We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Number Thirty Eight
Nearby Hotels
US$74
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$106
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YHA Bristol(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
285
41
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
285
41
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopper bathwest loftloft suiteclifton downswhiteladies roadclassic fmboutique hotelroberts radiodab radiogarlic mushroomsbreakfast was deliciousmince piespanelled wallsren productsb and bpoached eggs on toastceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My partner and I went to Number Thirty Eight as a birthday treat and although beautiful, they missed a few tricks. We didn't have an iPod dock which was a shame, the retro stereo was good to look at but not really comparable to your own musical choices. The bathroom was a real clincher when booking the hotel because of the lovely free standing baths but no bubble bath! What a shame. The two staff members we met were lovely and friendly, particularly at breakfast (which was delicious and a real treat as it was all included in the price).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyfholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is a great place to stay during a weekend in Bristol. Good location with Clifton village and its great shops and restaurants (especially Rockfish) within walking distance. The city centre is only a 20-30 minute walk.
The hotel is charming and the decor is both stylish and functional. Fantastic views over the city or the Downs depending on which side of the property your room is on. The terrace is a great space - sunny and secluded. The staff could not have been friendlier and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and made with good quality products, all made fresh to order. There were extremely generous with their portions and plenty of tea, coffee and toast were offered.
I would urge anyone considering staying here to ignore the one 'poor' rating and negative review that has been left on this site. Clearly, the person who left it has no style or originality and is unable to recognise good service and hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonAnna2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I can't really recommend this hotel enough — I love Number Thirty Eight. Fantastically comfy beds, gorgeous views (I didn't know Bristol had gorgeous views, but it does from Number Thirty Eight), really delicious breakfasts, and very friendly management.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel Writer X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

38 lifts B&B's to a new level. The room are spacious with modern decor, great bathrooms, comfortable large beds, large screen TV, Roberts radios, how long have you got I could go on and on, the staff are a delight and great breakfasts. Pricey but you get what you pay for, would I go back? You bet

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the top of the house are the largest but probably the most expensive. There is no lift at No.38 and there are a few stairs to climb
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a boutique B&B in Clifton. In a converted town house the views from the rooms are fantastic both front and back. The rooms are plain but light and airy. We had room 7 at the front and did not find the road noise at all troublesome (as mentioned by some). Rooms have flat screen tv with free view, tea and coffee facilities and a stocked mini-bar. WiFi is available and free. There is an IPod dock also.
The double bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Newspapers can be ordered from reception.
Bathroom was very nice with a large old style bath tub an excellent shower and views out over the city. Both bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean and the toiletries were REM
There is a terrace at the back to sit out on summer evenings.
Breakfast was a continental affair with a cooked option - try the garlic mushrooms and poached eggs - heavenly.
Parking was on street and there was ample space
Dinner can be arranged in house I think but with Clifton village a short taxi ride away one is spoilt for choice eatery wise.
Quite pricey though our superior double (room 7) was £160.
Certainly we would stay here again when we return to Bristol.
Photos to follow

Room Tip: Try for the top floor suites
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews