We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor, luxurious and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number Thirty Eight
Ranked #2 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have just returned home after spending a wonderful 2 nights at Number 38.

The house is decorated and furnished beautifully throughout. We had one of the larger rooms (room 2) at the top of the building (a treat for my birthday!) - from our room we had a wonderful view across the city from the bathroom side and across the downs at the front.

The breakfasts are very tasty and extremely filling - the scrambled egg with smoked salmon and chives was particularly tasty.

There are lovely REN products in the rooms and complimentary bottled water. There is a well stocked mini fridge in the room and fresh milk for tea/coffee.

White fluffy towels and robes (both were changed each day).

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly.

A really enjoyable stay - would love to go again sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrymc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 261 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

My partner and I went to Number Thirty Eight as a birthday treat and although beautiful, they missed a few tricks. We didn't have an iPod dock which was a shame, the retro stereo was good to look at but not really comparable to your own musical choices. The bathroom was a real clincher when booking the hotel because of the lovely free standing baths but no bubble bath! What a shame. The two staff members we met were lovely and friendly, particularly at breakfast (which was delicious and a real treat as it was all included in the price).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyfholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is a great place to stay during a weekend in Bristol. Good location with Clifton village and its great shops and restaurants (especially Rockfish) within walking distance. The city centre is only a 20-30 minute walk.
The hotel is charming and the decor is both stylish and functional. Fantastic views over the city or the Downs depending on which side of the property your room is on. The terrace is a great space - sunny and secluded. The staff could not have been friendlier and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and made with good quality products, all made fresh to order. There were extremely generous with their portions and plenty of tea, coffee and toast were offered.
I would urge anyone considering staying here to ignore the one 'poor' rating and negative review that has been left on this site. Clearly, the person who left it has no style or originality and is unable to recognise good service and hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonAnna2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I can't really recommend this hotel enough — I love Number Thirty Eight. Fantastically comfy beds, gorgeous views (I didn't know Bristol had gorgeous views, but it does from Number Thirty Eight), really delicious breakfasts, and very friendly management.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel Writer X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

38 lifts B&B's to a new level. The room are spacious with modern decor, great bathrooms, comfortable large beds, large screen TV, Roberts radios, how long have you got I could go on and on, the staff are a delight and great breakfasts. Pricey but you get what you pay for, would I go back? You bet

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the top of the house are the largest but probably the most expensive. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
2.6 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,241 reviews
1.8 km away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 39 in Bristol
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Thirty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Thirty Eight

Address: 38 Upper Belgrave Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 2XN, England (Formerly Downs View Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: RM717 - RM1,300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer ten stylish bedrooms in a recently refurbished Georgian merchant’s house at the top of the city. We offer an alternative to the corporate environment of city hotels, providing a contemporary 'home away from home' feel — focusing on the highest level of comfort and care. With panoramic city views from the rear of the building and the vast expanse of Clifton Downs to the front we are ideally placed for a short stop-over or weekend city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Number Thirty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Thirty Eight Hotel Bristol
Number 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing