We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number Thirty Eight
Ranked #2 of 50 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

My wife booked this wonderful little b&b as a surprise whilst visiting Bristol. I was a little dubious we only ever stay in hotels when we travel so a b & b was new to us both. I can honestly say I would stay here over and over again....from start to finish this place is just perfect!.....on arrival a lovely smiling young lady greeted us, explained everything to us and took us to our room. My wife had booked the west loft suite and as I walked in I couldn't help but say 'wow' out loud!.....the room was massive, a huge inviting bed and an even more impressive copper free standing bath tub greeted us. A huge selection of clipper coffee (including decaf) and tea were in the room along with a chargeable mini bar with a great selection of drinks and snacks. There was also a jug of milk, rather than the usual hotel cartons, which was more than enough for us. We had a taxi arranged during the day which we asked the young lady to book and also she booked a table for us at a nearby restaurant that evening so there was no hassle at all. We also booked breakfast in the room the following day which was first class, beautifully presented and superb quality. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk into town where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. On booking direct with the b & b we were given a list of recommended restaurants and if the hotel book for you, you are given vouchers as a thank you, we had two free cocktails on our arrival at the restaurant we chose so well worth booking through them. This little gem of a place is 10/10 and you will not be disappointed if you stay here

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SimonLisa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as we were attending a wedding at Bristol Zoo.

Positives;
+ Beautifully styled townhouse with luxurious rooms. The whole place is very stylish.
+ A very comfortable bed in a very clean room.
+ Location. A lovely part of Bristol and just a 10min walk to Bristol Zoo.
+ Breakfast was very good and the staff were very attentive, checking more than once that we were enjoying our meal and if we wanted anything else.
+ Complimentary REN products in the bathroom.
+ Wifi a good speed.

Negatives;
- Being a townhouse, I wouldn't recommend to those with mobility issues due to the steep stairs.
- Slight smell of dampness on the lower floor corridor but this was only confined to the corridor. Not a hint of it in our room or any other communal areas.

Would I recommend to friends?: Most definitely!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Excellent boutique hotel overlooking the Downs. Beautiful room with huge en suite - very clean and high quality furnishings. Very helpful staff and great cooked breakfast. Room was warm and comfortable. Highly reccomended - not cheap but you get what you pay for. Staff were helpful in sorting out the permit so we could park right outside.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Beautifully furnished luxury B&B in Clifton. Stayed this week for daughters graduation and everything was perfect. Stunning loft room with amazing views of the city, very comfortable bed, delicious breakfast and helpful staff, could not have been bettered. A 30min walk through the elegant residential streets to get to the main restaurant and shopping area of Clifton but you can easily drive in minutes 5 mins. Need to book well in advance as this is a real gem!

Room Tip: Worth paying for the loft rooms, dual aspect, huge bedroom and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Terrific attention to detail in the decor and great welcome made this a perfect place to stay for a family event nearby. The room was very spacious and well-appointed; the bed really comfortable and the views, of the Downs from the bedroom and down the hill into Bristol from the bathroom, were magnificent. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was just superb. The helpful parking permit made the stay very convenient and meant we didn't have to worry about the car. I'd thoroughly recommend Number Thirty Eight as a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good but No 3 was particularly spacious and had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
2.6 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,761 reviews
2.3 km away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,264 reviews
2.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
3.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Thirty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Thirty Eight

Address: 38 Upper Belgrave Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 2XN, England (Formerly Downs View Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: RM695 - RM1,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer ten stylish bedrooms in a recently refurbished Georgian merchant’s house at the top of the city. We offer an alternative to the corporate environment of city hotels, providing a contemporary 'home away from home' feel — focusing on the highest level of comfort and care. With panoramic city views from the rear of the building and the vast expanse of Clifton Downs to the front we are ideally placed for a short stop-over or weekend city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Number Thirty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Thirty Eight Hotel Bristol
Number 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing