We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly pleased”
Review of The Green Dragon

The Green Dragon
Ranked #34 of 255 Restaurants in High Wycombe
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: a traditional country Pub serving great food in a relaxed and friendly environment fun & feasting with friends. Open for Dinner Mon-Sat and Lunches Fri-Sun booking advised as we have a small seating area
Reviewed 9 April 2018

First visit on Sat since new management team stood over. Was worried food wouldn’t be on par as before but we all came away having enjoyed a great meal, good scampi, burgers and kids food. The decor as well has been enhanced, warm, welcoming staff. I wish them continued success.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank CgCraggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Have come into this local pub a few times. But was not impressed with my recent visit. The staff were rude and made me and my friends feel very uncomfortable.
Several times they made comments about us which we heard.
And throughout the evening the staff were glaring over at us and watching our every move. In the end we left. We wanted a nice social meet up and ended up only staying for 20minutes.

Date of visit: April 2018
4  Thank Yasmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Having moved into the area last year , we visited here several Sundays and enjoyed an amazing great value roast dinner in 2017. Sadly our visit last week really disappointed . Lunch was burnt and sent back and the menu choice was nothing special . Having recommended this pub to lots of family and friends in the past , I definitely won’t suggest to anyone to visit here again . The food myself and partner ordered was basic and tasteless and was obviously pre cooked / frozen and lacking freshness . Such a shame because it was such a lovely place to go before new management took over :(

Date of visit: March 2018
3  Thank joannedavies76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely pub with great atmosphere. Kids love the food and they are tough to please Rebellion available

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

My family visited a week ago for Sunday Lunch to celebrate my mother's birthday. Previously we have only ever heard good things about the food here, but this was a massive disappointment. The starters weren't too bad although the squid was a bit soggy rather than crisp due to being shallow fried as the deep fat fryer wasn't working. The main courses were terrible, cold vegetables and tough, badly cooked meat. It shouldn't be difficult to serve up a decent roast dinner. We asked for English mustard to go with the roast beef, but they didn't have any, a basic condiment when serving beef.The desserts were OK, although the portion sizes were inconsistent. We had to pay cash as the card machine wasn't working either. In addition, it was freezing in there and we had to keep our coats on as we were so cold. We have made a complaint to the new management, but a week later are yet to receive a response. Rest assured, we won't be returning.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank SueA2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Dragon also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
Flackwell Heath, High Wycombe
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing