We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating insight into Cambridge history”

The Round Church Visitor Centre
Ranked #26 of 145 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Before Newton and Darwin, Milton and Lewis, before the Colleges and the University... the Round Church in Cambridge was built. Start at the second oldest building in the city to learn about the history of Cambridge through a 25 minute film and an engaging exhibition. Guided Walks of the City: Tuesday, Thursday, and alternative Friday: 2.00 PM Saturday and Sunday: 2.30 PM CS Lewis Walking Tours: Monday and Wednesday: 2.00 PM Thursday: 11.00 AM On the Number 1 bus route from the railway station.Small entrance charge | Free for residents and children
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Joshua, the resident guide/caretaker made our visit come alive. Do ask him about the people in the scriptorium. Walking tours start here too.

Thank Addismedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaatCH, Manager at The Round Church Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you for visiting, Addismedia! We are so glad you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"holy sepulchre"
in 12 reviews
"oldest building"
in 9 reviews
"display boards"
in 6 reviews
"small entrance fee"
in 6 reviews
"cambridge history"
in 9 reviews
"quirky building"
in 3 reviews
"bridge street"
in 5 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"interesting information"
in 3 reviews
"city centre"
in 3 reviews
"christianity"
in 34 reviews
"video"
in 24 reviews
"jerusalem"
in 11 reviews
"exhibition"
in 19 reviews
"architecture"
in 15 reviews
"visitors"
in 16 reviews
"role"
in 5 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

It's round, it's a church. The staff is nice and approachable, there's a tour and a two hour video, but who has that kind of time. We wanted to like this more, left wanting, but ready to go. They did all they could with what little they had.

Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaatCH, Manager at The Round Church Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you, theDabblers, for your review! The Round Church certainly is little, but we hope there's enough in here to pique the interest of those looking for a good introduction to Cambridge. Just by way of correction, the 'Saints and Scholars' video is twenty minutes, and the Round Church Guided Walk of Cambridge is 2 hours long. Perhaps we'll see you again when you have more time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We popped into this place on our way back to the car after the end of a long day and, if we're being honest, were a little underwhelmed. The round end of the church is interesting, but other than this the inside of the church is fairly plain and pretty typical - nothing special. There were some interesting information banners explaining the history of Cambridge (dating back to roman times) which we found very interesting, but I'd only advise a visit to this place if you have the time or are really interested to see everything in Cambridge, as there are better sights in our opinion.

Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaatCH, Manager at The Round Church Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you, Jonathan, for your feedback! It's true that the Round Church is a little different from other Cambridge edifices. It does't have the grandeur of King's College chapel or the lavish decoration of the chapel at Saint John's College. It is, however, an architectural treasure in its own right, predating every university building and one of only four complete Round Churches in the UK. It was also the curious centerpiece of a drama of 19th-century church interior design! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the 'Cambridge Story' exhibition - we hope that it is a helpful orientation as visitors begin their time in Cambridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The Round Church Visitor's Center was extremely helpful for places to visit in Cambridge and setting up the walking tour of the city.

Thank Spainwinecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaatCH, Manager at The Round Church Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you, Spainwinecountry - so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Round Church!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

This ancient and beautiful little church was an unexpected highlight of our walk round Cambridge, which we enjoyed in spite of the dense crowds of tourists at the main attractions. Dating from the 11th century, it is one of only four round churches in use today, and unlike any church I had seen before. Only a few people joined our interesting and informative tour, which gave us some respite from the crowds! Certainly worth a visit, and if you are lucky a temporary escape from the tourist hordes!

Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaatCH, Manager at The Round Church Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Many thanks, Robin H, for your review. We are so glad you discovered the Round Church and found the tour informative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Round Church Visitor Centre also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Round Church Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing