We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$175
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$168
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$245
US$173
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cambridge City Tenison Towers(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Victoria Bed and Breakfast(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
273
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria streetwellington roomowner lizginger cakelarge bathroomdrawing roomclassical musiclocally sourced ingredientsmini suitehomemade marmaladecity centrequiet residential streetsuperb breakfastcharming b blittle touchesplace to staycomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

I booked the Gloucester Room for two nights in late May 2017. Everything about the room was very welcoming, from the huge bed (twins joined together) to the fantastic bathroom with easy chair and very welcome coffee and tea making facilities to home-made cake on both days. There was even a small balcony on which to sit after a days' hike around Cambridge.
Breakfast was everything you could wish for with either home cooked English breakfast or crusty bread/toast, croissants and home-made marmalade. Fruit, nuts, granola, yoghurt etc all were available should you have the room!
I easily walked the 20 minute walk from the rail station to Duke House as everything is very flat, not like the countryside in my home county of West Yorkshire. To explore the town It was a further 10 minute walk into the centre of Cambridge itself, much of it alongside pleasant green open spaces, at the time of my visit all being used by locals picnicking and lazing in the hot sun.
Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff who made you feel very well looked after and welcome.
I would heartily recommend Duke House to anyone seeking peace and quiet whilst at the same time being within easy reach of the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwyorks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you so much for writing such a colourful and enthusiastic review - it would appear that Cambridge has certainly found a place in your heart. It was even more pleasing to learn that you found that all met your expectations at Duke House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

So glad we chose to stay here as it had parking and yet was so close to the centre of town. Walking distance to everything which was the most important factor for us! The house is really tasteful and the host is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb, lovely choice of things to eat. small pieces of cake on the coffee trays were a nice touch too. I can't fault it and had a really lovely time. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and it was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank happygolucky37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you so very much for your review. We are most fortunate that our location offers easy walking distance to the city centre, the river and sights of Cambridge. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

This B&B is excellent. The decor is fun and the breakfasts were outstanding. Owner Liz and Paul were gracious and welcoming hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed the garden balcony of the Cambridge Suite and would recommend asking for this room. The house has a great history, so make sure that you find out about it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you for your review. The Cambridge suite is delightful when the weather is fine, so that guests can enjoy the private balcony which gives views across the rooftops of the city. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Beautifully decorated and comfortable with welcoming, accommodating owner and wonderful breakfast. Every detail is attended to from the thoughtful tray of tea (with a little brownie), to the luxury bed linens, pillows, towels and first rate bathrooms. Spotlessly clean and well kept. The breakfast is a work of art and delicious too! Liz couldn't do enough to assist with whatever I needed. Location is also excellent.
I stayed in the Kent room which is very private (next door) and extremely comfortable - again beautifully decorated. Excellent wifi.

Room Tip: Kent has a separate entrance and is very private.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PookaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

We are very happy and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

After reading many perfect reviews I booked the Duke for a two night stay. I thought I had found something to complain about (no accessible mirror when drying my hair) and was about to write a review when I discovered a perfect mirror in the wardrobe which I had inadvertently covered with some clothing. So. Nope. Everything was perfect. The staff friendly, helpful and charming. The breakfast well prepared, and even had some fresh fruit. The bed comfortable, the room stylish and clean, and the bathroom had a bath and a shower. Loved it.

Room Tip: The single room I was in was small, but the bathroom was huge and wonderful. Happy times.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cjknight2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

So pleased that we lived up to any expectations you may have had when browsing through reviews submitted by other guests. Always happy to improve on facilities, should guests mention something we may have over-looked, however in this instance, we seem to have provided all that you required. Thank you so much for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews