We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fourth stay at Duke House...”
Review of Duke House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duke House
Ranked #4 of 124 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Duke House is a wonderful B and B in a perfect location for easy walking access to the heart of historic Cambridge. The 'Gloucester' is a spaciousness room with a large bathroom (big bath with shower over) and a walk in wardrobe. The bed is huge and very comfy. The fresh roses in my room were gorgeous! Breakfast is delicious and, like all things here, is of the very best quality. I really like the emphasis on locally sourced ingredients, from apple juice (choose from different varieties of apples!) to eggs, salmon, jams and bread...etc. My favourite is smashed avocado on toast, or perhaps scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - difficult to choose, both were perfect! - thank you, Paul. Thanks once again for a wonderful, relaxing stay and for your meticulous attention to detail - all of which makes for yet another fabulous stay at Duke House.

Room Tip: I like the Gloucester, but I am sure all rooms will be top notch here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chox49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for your very warm and kind words. You have really composed a wonderful review; which we truly appreciate. It is so very pleasing to learn that not only is our location well suited when you come to stay with us but you still are able to notice extra details albeit your fourth stay - we very much look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Cambridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

I booked the Gloucester Room for two nights in late May 2017. Everything about the room was very welcoming, from the huge bed (twins joined together) to the fantastic bathroom with easy chair and very welcome coffee and tea making facilities to home-made cake on both days. There was even a small balcony on which to sit after a days' hike around Cambridge.
Breakfast was everything you could wish for with either home cooked English breakfast or crusty bread/toast, croissants and home-made marmalade. Fruit, nuts, granola, yoghurt etc all were available should you have the room!
I easily walked the 20 minute walk from the rail station to Duke House as everything is very flat, not like the countryside in my home county of West Yorkshire. To explore the town It was a further 10 minute walk into the centre of Cambridge itself, much of it alongside pleasant green open spaces, at the time of my visit all being used by locals picnicking and lazing in the hot sun.
Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff who made you feel very well looked after and welcome.
I would heartily recommend Duke House to anyone seeking peace and quiet whilst at the same time being within easy reach of the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwyorks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you so much for writing such a colourful and enthusiastic review - it would appear that Cambridge has certainly found a place in your heart. It was even more pleasing to learn that you found that all met your expectations at Duke House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

So glad we chose to stay here as it had parking and yet was so close to the centre of town. Walking distance to everything which was the most important factor for us! The house is really tasteful and the host is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb, lovely choice of things to eat. small pieces of cake on the coffee trays were a nice touch too. I can't fault it and had a really lovely time. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank happygolucky37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you so very much for your review. We are most fortunate that our location offers easy walking distance to the city centre, the river and sights of Cambridge. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

This B&B is excellent. The decor is fun and the breakfasts were outstanding. Owner Liz and Paul were gracious and welcoming hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed the garden balcony of the Cambridge Suite and would recommend asking for this room. The house has a great history, so make sure that you find out about it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you for your review. The Cambridge suite is delightful when the weather is fine, so that guests can enjoy the private balcony which gives views across the rooftops of the city. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Beautifully decorated and comfortable with welcoming, accommodating owner and wonderful breakfast. Every detail is attended to from the thoughtful tray of tea (with a little brownie), to the luxury bed linens, pillows, towels and first rate bathrooms. Spotlessly clean and well kept. The breakfast is a work of art and delicious too! Liz couldn't do enough to assist with whatever I needed. Location is also excellent.
I stayed in the Kent room which is very private (next door) and extremely comfortable - again beautifully decorated. Excellent wifi.

Room Tip: Kent has a separate entrance and is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PookaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizO55, Owner at Duke House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

We are very happy and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
0.8 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,466 reviews
0.5 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.1 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,235 reviews
1.3 km away
Worth House
Worth House
#2 of 124 in Cambridge
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke House

Address: 1 Victoria Street, Cambridge CB1 1JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: RM519 - RM1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duke House is a beautiful, boutique B&B in the heart of Cambridge. We opened our doors in April 2012. Nestling alongside Christ's Pieces green, we are just minutes' away from all the city's attractions and colleges. Five tastefully designed en-suite rooms and a self catering apartment, personal service and our central location will ensure your visit is as enjoyable as possible. Whether visiting Cambridge for business or pleasure, everything at Duke House is designed to ensure you are "at one", with yourself and your surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing