We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch!!”
Review of Thaikhun Cambridge

Thaikhun Cambridge
Get food delivered
Ranked #78 of 624 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$34
Description: Thai with friends for food and fun! Nestled away down on the Quayside in Cambridge transports you away from the river Cam to the streets of Koh San road in Thailand with booth seating and two small private dining rooms we make the perfect place to celebrate or relax with friends! It’s the perfect venue to relax and unwind with a great selection of authentic Thai and specials including a great selection of vegan and vegetarian dishes!
Restaurant details
Description: Thai with friends for food and fun! Nestled away down on the Quayside in Cambridge transports you away from the river Cam to the streets of Koh San road in Thailand with booth seating and two small private dining rooms we make the perfect place to celebrate or relax with friends! It’s the perfect venue to relax and unwind with a great selection of authentic Thai and specials including a great selection of vegan and vegetarian dishes!
Reviewed 21 August 2021

Popped in for a quick lunch today and was not disappointed! Quick and super friendly service from Stevie on top of some fab food! Will definitely be making it my regular lunch spot :)

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank suzieo574
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica, Marketing at Thaikhun Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sawasdee Ka (hello) suzieo574

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review and choosing us for lunch! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the service on your most recent visit, and I cannot wait to share your comments with Stevie and the team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to try more of Khun Kim's authentic Thai dishes and extensive menus

Kind Regards
Thaikhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2021

We visited Thaikhun for a casual dinner and we were not disappointed. Service was very good from the outset and broadly speaking, the food matched this. Being familiar with Thai food, we enjoyed our experience and portion sizes were generous. The menu offered a good selection which certainly catered for vegetarians (in addition to the usual options of tofu). For a reliable choice, and in a good location, we would recommend Thaikhun.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShahLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica, Marketing at Thaikhun Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sawasdee Ka (hello) ShahLaw

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and recommending us! Here at Thaikhun we take great pride in serving authentic Thai dishes and providing Ha Dao (5* service), we are thrilled to hear these were both key highlights from your visit and look forward to sharing your comments with the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon for more of our extensive menus and Khun Kim's favourite Thai dishes

Kind Regards
Thaikhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

My husband and I went to Thaikhun with two friends who live in Cambridge. They usually order the pad Thai but wanted to taste something else from the menu.
We saw the Kao Soi Gai (the "legendary" KSG) on the menu: my husband and I have visited the North of Thailand many times (it is a northern speciality), have cooked the dish ourselves many times and it is one of our favourite Thai dishes so we got very excited and the four of us ordered the dish.
The menu indicates that "no description will do justice" to the dish but it might be because the cooks at Thaikhun don't really know what the dish is made of.
We were served a big bowl of chicken Massaman curry, topped with noodle-shaped fried tapioca (if you've eaten prawn crackers that melt in your mouth, you know what I mean). That's not what a Kao Soi Gai is. The Massaman curry paste and the Kao Soi curry paste are two very different pastes and you can't replace one with the other.
Furthermore, the curry is supposed to be light, there should be some egg noodles in it, and it should be topped with fried egg noodles. This Kao Soi was heavy and oily. Don't waste your time and your money. You'd better off looking at a good recipe on YouTube and making it from scratch.
No description will do justice to our deception. Add a slightly impatient and unfriendly waitress to the picture and you have a ruined lunch.
We won't be back.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Annanas-nanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica, Marketing at Thaikhun Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Sawasdee Ka (hello) Annanas-nanas

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest review. We are truly disapointed to hear you didnt enjoy your visit with us. We value all of our guests feedback and are always looking for ways to improve. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Kao Soi Gai, our kitchen team take great pride in serving authentic Thai dishes and I will be sure to share your comments with our kitchen and menu development team.

We are also extremely disappointed to hear about the service you recieved on your visit, our team strive to provide Ha Dao (5* service) and this certainly does not meet our ususal high standard

We do hope you will give us another try and we hope to welcome you back again

Kind Regards
Thaikhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2021

Service was great and the food was of a really high standard. Ate dinner here mid week and not too busy early evening . Service was quick and the food of a really high standard

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica, Marketing at Thaikhun Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Sawasdee Ka (hello) Richard M

Khop Khun Ka (thank you) for taking the time to share your wonderful review. Here at Thaikhun we pride ourselves in providing prompt and attentive service to all of our guests, we are thrilled to hear this was a key highlight from your visit along with Khun Kim's authentic Thai dishes

We hope to welcome you back soon to try more of our extensive menus

Kind Regards
Thaikhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2021

Visited mid-week with my husband, daughter and another family. We had pre-booked and found the staff to be helpful and attentive. I have a but allergy so they pointed me to the code on menu whxih shows up but content. Most of the ‘main meal’ food was good (except for the fried chicken which one of the party regretted ordering as was not that tasty), although it does seem a little expensive for what it it. Presentation was great though and you get loads of rice. We were less thrilled with the desserts. They got one dessert wrong and the chocolate fudge cake has unnecessary sickly strawberry sauce poured all over it, but otherwise these were fine. Overall a good (not great) place for a family meal.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica, Marketing at Thaikhun Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Sawasdee Ka (hello) Tracy M

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and honest feedback. Our team take great pride in providing attentive service and offering a wide variety of dishes to cater for most dietary requirments, we are glad to hear this was a key highlight from your visit.

We are dissapointed to hear that another member of your party didn't enjoy our new Hawkers chicken dish and you found it to be quite expensive for what it is, we do regularly compare our prices to local competitors and I will be sure to share your comments with the menu development team.

We do hope you will give us another try and we hope to welcome you back soon to try more of our extensive menus

Kind Regards
Thaikhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thaikhun Cambridge also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Thaikhun Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.