We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

waltonwan...
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“This place could be good but unfortunately we encountered problems during our stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2019 for a stay in September 2019
2
people found this review helpful

What are the basics you look for in an overnight stay? A bed (ideally quiet), a hot shower, heat and light - and these days probably wifi. Well, we did get some of those essentials.

The house is well located just off Mill Road, with plenty of shops and restaurants and about 20-30 minute walk from town depending on where you're heading. It comes with a reserved car space which is fabulous in Cambridge. All the arrival instructions worked fine - except for a request to leave cash payment when we had already paid in full (but we discounted that as an oversight.)

When we went into the house it was warm and our impression was very good but we immediately noticed water on the worktop leaking from the boiler. We put dishes under the leak to save the wooden worktop and reported it to the owner who immediately sent his lovely cleaning lady to try to fix the boiler. Poor cleaning lady! It was clear from both the conversation and the marks around the boiler that there had been a recurring boiler problem as various tactics were tried and it was concluded the boiler 'should be ok'.

Unfortunately overnight the boiler did switch off meaning no hot water or heat the next day. We did have electricity though and beds, but the wifi next worked, even though we tried the magic of switching it off and on.

In the morning we told the owner and left earlier than planned to get to a warm cafe but the water was pretty icy. We were lucky we only stayed one night. Had it been more we would have had to leave. The owner immediately apologised and promised a 'substantial discount' but almost two weeks later it hasn't happened and I am sure it won't now. Probably another oversight. The owner did message to say the boiler was fixed so it may well be ok.

In honesty this has put me off renting a house and I'll definitely book a hotel next time as I do like heat, a hot shower and wifi. It's up to you to decide if you want to chance the serviced boiler. I won't be back. I'm sorry to be negative as it could be a charming house, even if the stairs are practically vertical, and is well located and the landlord was very responsive while we were there, but sadly was unable to furnish us with the basic amenities we paid for.

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Sep 2020
I am afraid much of the boiler issues detailed here are correct and the discount was processed. We are fairly good at responding to emergencies but in this instance out of around half a dozen emergencies over the past five years, we were not. J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davy M
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just returned from staying the weekend. House is in a very central location just 15 mins walk from the centre. Spotlessly clean with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Lovely to have the garden for the evening's. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awb216
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great house in the centre of Cambridge”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at Gwydir Street House in mid-November. We were travelling with a six month old baby and our stay in the house was very comfortable. The manager, Julie, was very welcoming and helpful. The living/dining area downstairs is spacious and nicely decorated, and kitchen has everything you might need during a holiday. We even had a bottle of wine waiting for us on our arrival. The bedrooms upstairs are comfortable and quiet. A cot was provided for our baby. There is also a nice looking garden but we didn't use it as it was too cold. This is a great flat to use as a base for exploring Cambridge.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veteran_t...
Northeast England
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Location for visiting the city and near to great pubs”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We visited this property in August and were very pleased with the level of equipment and the quality of kitchen area. We did encounter a problem on arrival but the owner was quickly on the case and all was put right the very next day, good service. The house is only 15 minutes walk from the town centre so great for sight seeing (£6 in a taxi) We had a great week.
One comment. As with all properties of this age and type the staircase is quite narrow and steep so those who are "less steady on their feet" should bear this in mind

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location close ot Cambridge
Liked least: The Steep staircase
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.