We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting”

Ted Coney's Family Portraits
Ranked #13 of 17 things to do in Ely
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I watched the virtual tour a few months ago and was inspired to go on the actual tour. The video just made me want to find out more about this unusual house in the middle of Ely. Truly inspiring and enlightening. Ted has a great way of explaining things in an interesting and engaging manner. You'll learn a lot about art, as well as finding out all sorts of riveting facts about this eccentric man with a vintage car and an out-of-the-ordinary family. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

If you decide to go to Ely, you definitaly should visit the pop-up gallery of Ted Coney! But don't forget to make an appointment in advance!
When you enter his gallery, which is situated in his his house, you immediately immerse yourself in the atmosphere of the charming artist's memories of his family, you immerse yourself in the perception of each moment that ever happened to Ted and his relatives! The painter is like a "camera" that takes and saves what it sees! But his paintigs are not a simple display of facts , they are the inexhastible imagination through the labyrinth of which Ted will guide you with pleasure. Ted is a real collector of things - old newspapers, the things that inspired him to create the paintings etc! Two hours at his place are like one minute and you want to go back there again for a new tour that we surely will do in near future!

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Tami E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Over the summer I have toured Ted's family portraits 4 times. Each time I am astonished by the quality of the artwork and the variety of unusual ways he uses to express the multifaceted family experiences.He uses layers of fragments, and symbols which come together to form a picture that initially seems straighforward but draws you in to look closer and explore the minute details.Ted is the perfect guide, bubbling with enthusiasm,fascinating to listen to and always happy to answer questions.

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Having read the reviews here, I booked my wife and I on a weekday - Ted doesn't always do this, but agreed readily. I was half expecting to be disappointed - it seems almost too good to be true - but we were both blown away. The art is interesting enough to look at, but that experience pales compared to the explanations and stories woven by Ted about their creation. He is charming and friendly, and the frustration of only talking about a fraction of the works on show is removed once you realise that you can always come back and do another of the tours the next time you are in Ely.

If you're in any way partial to modern art, and will be in Ely, don't miss this. It's a perfect complement to the other, historic, attractions of the town.

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank Carpentr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

For the smallest of entry fees you can spend a very enjoyable hour entering the fascinating world of Ted Coney. For those of you that might worry that you will have to purchase a work of Art rest assured you wallets will not be under threat. Ted is an artist who has no intention of selling you his works, you would not be allowed to purchase any exhibit - he paints because he has to - and the work is a visual diary of the important and trivial aspects of his life.
This experience is a small scale version of the Culture Show or South Bank Show only far more entertaining. There is a choice of themed tours so you can visit more than once and have a different experience and we intend to go again.
The only man to have called out the AA to the nave of Ely Cathedral!!!

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Jonty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ted Coney's Family Portraits also viewed

 

Been to Ted Coney's Family Portraits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing