We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”

Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #61 of 580 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$12 - US$28
Description: Here at Goodwin's Chester we are passionate about serving real, honest food and famous for the very best steaks prepared and seasoned with our signature spice blend. Everything is cooked to perfection by our expert Grill Masters. Our bread is baked in house and our cocktails are inspired. We are perfectly located near to Cheshire Oaks retail park & Chester Zoo. Adjacent to Chester Countess Hospital and a stones throw from Chester University. You will experience expertly grilled food, breads baked in house, ice cold beers & cocktails, great wines & craft beers, fresh salads & signature desserts. Everything here is made with love and born of Fire & Ice.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at Goodwin's Chester we are passionate about serving real, honest food and famous for the very best steaks prepared and seasoned with our signature spice blend. Everything is cooked to perfection by our expert Grill Masters. Our bread is baked in house and our cocktails are inspired. We are perfectly located near to Cheshire Oaks retail park & Chester Zoo. Adjacent to Chester Countess Hospital and a stones throw from Chester University. You will experience expertly grilled food, breads baked in house, ice cold beers & cocktails, great wines & craft beers, fresh salads & signature desserts. Everything here is made with love and born of Fire & Ice.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Nice atmosphere in restaurant. Eight of us enjoyed our food. Staff were very nice, our waitress, Sam, was very friendly and efficient. My fish was slightly over cooked but still tasty. Would recommend the Banoffi pie for dessert as it was delicious. Would go again.

Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Lesley B

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear your fish was overdone. I’m hoping you got a checkback on your experience with us and that a manager looked after you before you left? Please feel free to contact me if not on 1780@greeneking.co.uk.

Great to hear more positive reports around Sam. She’ll be most happy she’s helped enhance your visit.

Best regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great booze, Brian was the best!

We came for a family day and he was fantastic, he was attentive and made us really welcome

Thank Mostin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Mostin21

Thanks for sending in your review. Sounds quite positive. I hope the rest of your Easter went well.

Best regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent service and great food, friendly staff especially Sam. I'd Definitley recommend Goodwins, it was the first time I'd visited with my family and will definitely be back.

Thank jayne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi there Jayne f

Thank you for your positive review. I fully appreciate how many great options Chester has to enjoy with family and friends so I’m greatful you picked us to spend part of your Easter with.

Sam has been a true guru to our new starters with training & support so it’s great to see her get a mention for what she does so well.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your Easter break. Look forwards to seeing you here again very soon.

Best wishes

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Only popped in for a quick drink but it lasted a lot longer and the service by the staff was excellent.
The atmosphere and friendliness was great so I will definitely be returning!! Special attention must go to the service by Bri with a big thank you.

Thank kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Kevin W

It’s great to hear Brian getting a mention. In fact Easter has been a great time for our bar team with many pieces of great feedback coming through.

I hope the rest of your Easter weekend went well. Best wishes!

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Lucky to live round the corner from this restaurant. Always receive very good service - a special mention to Brian on the bar. Would recommend.

Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Kate F

We’re lucky having you as a local & even luckier you’re a fan!

Great hearing from you!
Brian will be most happy.

Best wishes

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Goodwin's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing