We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
US$91
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ba Ba Guest House(Chester)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grosvenor Place Guest House(Chester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alexandra Lodge Guest House(Chester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
US$239
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
217
165
71
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
165
71
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrea small double roomfriendly hotelfour postermin strollrecommend this hotelevening mealjust returned from a night staybath showerbooked this hoteltwo nightsno liftbreakfast was excellentfamily roomquiet locationlick of painttop floor
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Really lovely, thoughtful staff and very pleasant rooms. The hotel is in a quiet location away from the town centre. A perfectly decent meal in the evening and a very good breakfast before I left.

Room Tip: The single room here is as good as many a double I've had elsewhere
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkbananarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariongillyhow, Owner at Brookside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

On behalf of All the staff and Management of The Brookside Hotel, may we thank you for your lovely comments we strive at all times to ensure our guests have a lovely stay.
Once again sincere thanks
with regards
Mark and Marion Gilfoyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Brookside hotel for an evening at the beginning of March 2012. On check-in, the manager was extremely friendly and welcoming and spoke to us for quite some time about all manner of things. We were made to feel really warm and welcome, the service was very personable and even the cleaner stopped to say hello to us.

Our room was tiny, teeny tiny, but had everything we could ask for. In a way I liked that it was cosy as it was a romantic evening away! Despite the bathroom being equally as small, it had a brand new shower and was really clean.

The location was about a 20 minute walk from the city centre which wasn't too bad, about a fiver in a taxi. My partner used the bar while I was getting ready for our night out and he said it was spot on and had everything he needed. Can't comment on the breakfast, although it was included, as we were too hungover to make it. Parking on-site and free too. All in all, a cosy pick at a reasonable price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissTropicalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariongillyhow, Owner at Brookside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Sincere thanks for your lovely comments, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our commitment to guests is always to exceed expectations, we hope if you stay again you will also enjoy the experience of our "Full Cheshire Breakfast". Once gain many thanks and best wishes to you both.
Mark and Marion Gilfoyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

we stayed one night at the hotel in early March, we arrived early and left the car in the hotels car park which is covered by cctv, the staff where friendly and told us about things to do in chester as we hadn't been before we we appreciated and took on board there advice and did the river cruise which we enjoyed.
we returned to the hotel around 5pm to check in for the night and were given directions to our room, which was a good size and had a double and single bed,my wife noticed the bedding hadn't been changed from the previous guests as there was lipstick and other stains on the linen, this was changed within 5 mins and we were given a free drink in the bar that evening, the rooms could do with updating but i would say in general they are clean and i suppose for the room rate you pay they are priced accordingly.
we used the hotels restaurant for our evening meal and breakfast which we found ok, they do a set menu for 3 courses for around £18 which we thought was value for money.
its around a 15 min walk into town which is fine in the daytime but i wouldn't recommend in the dark as you have to walk under an uninviting under pass which is poorly lit.
all in all apart from the bed linen we had an alright stay and would recommend this hotel if you wanted a cheap night away in chester.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel truly embodies the meaning of the word hospitality! Exceptional service, warm and friendly staff, and a cracking breakfast, what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed for one night on a business trip. The staff were welcoming and friendly and my room was very comfortable. I had the evening meal which was reasonably priced and well cooked as was breakfast. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Sussexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews