We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Edgar House(Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Oddfellows(Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveller rating
321
511
264
87
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
511
264
87
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridebusiness parkswimming poolexecutive roombar areahealth clubsofa bedchanging roomsfamily roomreception staffbit datedwould stay againcity centrebar pricesevening mealleisure facilitiesminute drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Holiday Inn - you know what you are going to get. All of the essentials were there and the location of this place is perfect for touring. Plenty of room to park. Staff were friendly and helpful. Let down slightly by a few minor things e.g. litter in the grounds, no toilet brush, lengthy walk to reception etc but nothing to spoil a stay.

Room Tip: Executive rooms worth the extra but a long way from reception
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear steve m
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and your comments have been noted and if I may reassure you that we have addressed the issues you raised.
Thank you for your candid feedback, it really is appreciated.
We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight whilst visiting Chester which is only five minutes away, the hotel looks a little tired from the outside the inside is very modern and has very you would expect from a well known hotel chain. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I visited the health suite which has a swimming pool, gym, jacuzzi and sauna. Breakfast is served between half past seven to half past ten. I went at a busy time but the staff were very efficient and helpful. The breakfast was of good quality with plenty to choose from. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend had booked Friday to Sunday stay at the hotel , arrived to the car park full of travelers and car park full of rubbish but then hours later the police moved them on , from the Friday evening to sat evening absolutely no sleep at all the people above us were so loud and the walls are paper thin , so felt like the living dead on the way home driving back to Bristol , hotel its self was OK but nothing really special , stayed in better places for the LAck of sleep and thin walls I would avoid this hotel chain in the future

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Zombiegoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Zombiegoo,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. It is regrettable that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us due to the parking situation and the level of noise you have to endure. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you have faced. Your feedback has been taken into account and will be shared with our management team. We are confident that necessary steps will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice clean and modern hotel. However so frustrating to see the prices in the hotel bar, would have happily eaten more often but the prices are simply not appropriate for the average food served. Next time we come we definitely will ensure we plan not to eat here, not for the quality just simply the ridiculous prices.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank JFK3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i went to the hotel with my girlfriend for some lunch who works in MBNA ,. I did not see the signage about charging... plus was not made aware of the parking charge by staff , they must’ve been very discreet signage
Please make your signs more obvious!! could you tell your staff to make people aware of this,
My girlfriend has made people aware of this in work and people who did use the place no longer will touch it for there lunch.
Parking eye have taken us to court with a £175 charge definatly will never use this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozza7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello mozza7777,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry about the issues with the parking charges. I have sent you a private message regarding this concern. Your observations about the signage, along with your comments have been shared with the hotel management for the improvement of the services we offer.

I hope you change your mind and give our hotel another try so we can serve you better.

Best Regards,

Clayton G.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews