We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$100
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$80
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$89
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bawn Lodge(Chester)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Alexandra Lodge Guest House(Chester)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
27
14
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
14
5
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed for just one night in the "cottage". Very cramped and in serious need of a good clean. Had to go to the main house to pick up wifi. On positive side, very quiet so did get a good night's sleep and the lady owner was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked to order.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank cjb_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The bedroom window was locked shut - hazard! There was no shower, but a narrow bath, radiator in bathroom didn't work. The room was grubby, with an empty coke bottle from the previous occupant down the back of the bedside cabinet. The House was full of character and it was close to amenities

Room Tip: Check beforehand if there is a shower available in any of the rooms.If you want quality, stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Located on a narrow cobbled street in the centre of the town, this guesthouse is truly a gem. The ensuite room was well appointed. The breakfast was good too. The location was fantastic with pubs, restaurants, shops, the walls and the town centre just a short walk away. Perfect for a weekend getaway to experience a bit of culture and history.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankur2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Finding the place was simple. Parking is away from the building due to the tight streets etc, but not far & it was secure. Once our bags were unpacked David the owner issued a car pass & took one of us & the car to the car park, where our car stayed quite safe for the duration. Upon entering we were made extremely welcome by David & his mother who straight away made us a pot of tea while we refreshed ourselves. The building is very old & has been in the same family for many years, born out by the historic documents proudly displayed on the walls. Once refreshed we went up to our rooms - there were just 3 of them, all on the first floor, though we later learned of a 'cottage' at the end of the garden. Our room was not the biggest in the world, but the quirkyness of it enhanced the old world charm of it all. All the usual facilities were there, but beware of finding the odd step up or down as you wander around. Our bed was very comfortable & the room very cosy indeed.
David was an excellent host, helping us to find the best of what we wanted in the City with his personal choices, but also those of his guests which didn't necassarily tally with his. Exploring is part of the fun of going away, but we were more than well prepared for our ventures into the City itself, which was as close as the top of the road. I have mobility problems, but was more than pleased with the very close proximity to most things. It is an excellent site as once you get your bearings it is very handy for pubs, shops, tour bus & access to the City Walls should you wish to walk them.
To top off an very enjoyable stay, David even went shopping for black pudding for us the following mornings. They were delicious, a good choice of things & of a fair size. Some breakfasts are far too big, but here they were not overfacing yet ample enough. Poor David had his hands full yet proved that men CAN multi-task!
Would we stay again? Yes we would be more than happy to, & so would our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights last week whilst visiting Chester. We stayed in the cottage building at the rear of the B&B. It is a stand alone building that is accessed through the sitting room and through the rear garden. The cottage has two rooms. The bedroom and the bathroom. A sliding door separates one from the other and privacy is not good because of the gap between the door and the wall. There is simply not enough space for a door. One thing that stands out here is lack of space. These are old buildings built in circa the 17th century when people were of generally smaller stature. Some other reviewers on TripAdvisor have described this B&B as "quirky". The place certainly has that 'olde worlde' feel about it and 'character' but it all felt a little bit small. In the cottage the bed basically takes up most of the room and there is little or no space to move around. We had a look at one of the other rooms in the main building before choosing the cottage but it was similar regarding space. Other reviewers have referred to more spacious rooms so i suggest you try to book one of these but there are not many rooms in this B&B. The shower in the cottage is a basic electric shower. The water pressure was not strong. I understand that renovation work is being done by the owners in January. A power shower would be an improvement. The room in the cottage has a storage heater but this was generally not good enough in daytime. It worked better at night.
On a more positive note the staff and owners are very friendly and the breakfast was very good. There is a nice sitting room that is nice to retreat to for a a quiet read. The Chester Town House is ideally placed for strolling around Chester city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews