We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking B&B!”
Review of Chester Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chester Town House
Ranked #62 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great location inside the city wall. Car park at the end of the road then straight over the cross road. We were made to feel really welcome. We were leant a couple of chairs when we went to the outdoor cinema. Surprised at some of the recent comments for the price and age of the building it was really good. Breakfast was good as well. Only shame is the owner said she was retiring so get in there quick!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tinners_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed for just one night in the "cottage". Very cramped and in serious need of a good clean. Had to go to the main house to pick up wifi. On positive side, very quiet so did get a good night's sleep and the lady owner was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked to order.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank cjb_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The bedroom window was locked shut - hazard! There was no shower, but a narrow bath, radiator in bathroom didn't work. The room was grubby, with an empty coke bottle from the previous occupant down the back of the bedside cabinet. The House was full of character and it was close to amenities

Room Tip: Check beforehand if there is a shower available in any of the rooms.If you want quality, stay somewh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Located on a narrow cobbled street in the centre of the town, this guesthouse is truly a gem. The ensuite room was well appointed. The breakfast was good too. The location was fantastic with pubs, restaurants, shops, the walls and the town centre just a short walk away. Perfect for a weekend getaway to experience a bit of culture and history.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankur2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Finding the place was simple. Parking is away from the building due to the tight streets etc, but not far & it was secure. Once our bags were unpacked David the owner issued a car pass & took one of us & the car to the car park, where our car stayed quite safe for the duration. Upon entering we were made extremely welcome by David & his mother who straight away made us a pot of tea while we refreshed ourselves. The building is very old & has been in the same family for many years, born out by the historic documents proudly displayed on the walls. Once refreshed we went up to our rooms - there were just 3 of them, all on the first floor, though we later learned of a 'cottage' at the end of the garden. Our room was not the biggest in the world, but the quirkyness of it enhanced the old world charm of it all. All the usual facilities were there, but beware of finding the odd step up or down as you wander around. Our bed was very comfortable & the room very cosy indeed.
David was an excellent host, helping us to find the best of what we wanted in the City with his personal choices, but also those of his guests which didn't necassarily tally with his. Exploring is part of the fun of going away, but we were more than well prepared for our ventures into the City itself, which was as close as the top of the road. I have mobility problems, but was more than pleased with the very close proximity to most things. It is an excellent site as once you get your bearings it is very handy for pubs, shops, tour bus & access to the City Walls should you wish to walk them.
To top off an very enjoyable stay, David even went shopping for black pudding for us the following mornings. They were delicious, a good choice of things & of a fair size. Some breakfasts are far too big, but here they were not overfacing yet ample enough. Poor David had his hands full yet proved that men CAN multi-task!
Would we stay again? Yes we would be more than happy to, & so would our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 km away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#18 of 45 in Chester
305 reviews
10.4 km away
Days Inn Chester East
8.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
405 reviews
14.4 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,216 reviews
1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Town House

Address: 23 King Street, Chester C1 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: RM355 - RM382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chester Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Chester Town House, a charming 16th century house providing quality bed and breakfast accommodation within the walls of the City of Chester near to the Town Hall and Cathedral. The warm and welcoming atmosphere of the Chester Town House invites all visitors in a vicinity where all the major locations and attractions are a step away. Make the visit to this historic Roman city as comforting as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Town House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing