We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed ”
Review of Chester Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Town House
Ranked #62 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Whilst I acknowledge hotel prices in Chester are artificially high when the races are on Chester Town house leaves a bitter taste after sounding over £300 for two nights stay

There is no parking or set down so overnight parking is suggested in a NCP about 150m meters up the hill at a further £40 for two nights

Upon arriving the Hotel offers a very striking Georgian facade

It's down hill from here

Struggling from the carpark with the remnants of two weeks on the road and was greeted a set of very steep steps

Upon arriving at a desk I presumed was reception I deposited my bags called for assistance and eventually a member of staff finally came to my aid

Checking in I offered the keys to my room and some directions that sounded as if I was being guided to the North Face of the Eiger!

I requested help with one of my three bags and the receptionist lead the way.

Up , down, up again via very tight stair cases I was struck by the complete deficit of any of the exterior beautiful Georgian features exhibited on buildings facade

Veneered panelled doors added nothing to the buildings beauty

Upon arrival at room eighteen I was shown a featureless room devoid of any character

Looking around for a light switch revelled the only lighting was Floor mounted or on bedside tables

Drawing back the curtains to peruse the beautiful view of the ancient city of Chester I was greeted by a dinghy black shed and somebody else's carpark .

Venturing into the bathroom ( a obvious pod defacing the lost Georgian splendour of this building)

I was greeted by a tiny sink, minuscule broken shower cubicle and unflushed toilet

Terrible, seldom have I stayed in such a disappointing over priced location.

Deserves no custom!



Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank jeremy_hartigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Excellent location for visiting Chester. Rooms are on the small side and could do with more attention to detail regarding cleanliness and room touches ! Breakfast was really good ! Price was expensive compared to other bed and breakfasts we have visited but obviously paying for location rather than facilities.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Claireatclaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

Lovely hidden gem with a great Breakfast and location that is perfect for visiting chester the propietors offer a great service best breakfast ive had.chester has so many great places to eat in the evening too and the shops are brilliant lovely having a ride on the river dee too

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great location inside the city wall. Car park at the end of the road then straight over the cross road. We were made to feel really welcome. We were leant a couple of chairs when we went to the outdoor cinema. Surprised at some of the recent comments for the price and age of the building it was really good. Breakfast was good as well. Only shame is the owner said she was retiring so get in there quick!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tinners_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed for just one night in the "cottage". Very cramped and in serious need of a good clean. Had to go to the main house to pick up wifi. On positive side, very quiet so did get a good night's sleep and the lady owner was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked to order.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank cjb_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 km away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#18 of 45 in Chester
307 reviews
10.4 km away
Days Inn Chester East
8.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
406 reviews
14.4 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,232 reviews
1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Town House

Address: 23 King Street, Chester C1 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: RM356 - RM384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chester Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Chester Town House, a charming 16th century house providing quality bed and breakfast accommodation within the walls of the City of Chester near to the Town Hall and Cathedral. The warm and welcoming atmosphere of the Chester Town House invites all visitors in a vicinity where all the major locations and attractions are a step away. Make the visit to this historic Roman city as comforting as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Town House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing