We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb place, very friendly host!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chester Canal View

Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Large shower cubicle........................Kitchenette with breakfast basket.
What else do you need to relax and enjoy visiting Chester?
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by night
Romantic and what an outlook?
Misty morning over the Water Tower
Your view to the snowy lock in Winter (hopefully just winter!!)
Splendid quiet country environment,yet still in the heart of Chester
Dusk at Tower Wharf and the Dee Basin, a mass of history surrounds you at Chester Canal View.
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free secure parking!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Storm72
Liss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Superb place, very friendly host!”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Loved Canal View - what more could you want than being in the center of town, with the walls right by and the canal right outside!

As previous reviews, this room is part of the host's house, but it really is no issue at all and you have complete privacy. We loved the room with the quirky kitchen and divine breakfast basket! The bed was super comfy and plenty of storage space in the room, or right outside in the hall way to use if need be.

Check in went well and Ken came to say hello when he was in and gave us the lowdown on the area and what to do and where to eat! We took advantage of everything and can safely say we will certainly be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Everything was good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, great location and attention to detail”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you're looking to park up in a great location for the city and you like to do you're own thing with everything just so, this place is perfect choice. 100 yards to the city wall, 200 to a very good pub. Perfect Base and view out the back makes for a perfect stay in venue too. We had a great stay and will returnl

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhead5
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What's not to like !!”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Have just returned from a two night stay at Canal View.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Ken the owner has been superb but not overbearing (this is his home as well but was there only when needed )
The room is spotless and all attention to making a small home from home has been achieved.
The idea of a small but functioning kitchenette is brilliant.
The location is brilliant just one minute you are on the city walls, but the oasis of calm by the canal setting gives you an air of tranquillity.
We will be returning for definite when we can find a slot in our busy work schedule.
The addition of the breakfast basket is a wonderful idea and was kindly sourced some gluten free items for it on our arrival, thanks Ken.
As for value for money shhhhh, I don't want everyone going lol ( but it is !!!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G
1 review
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Absolutely beautiful lovely peace and quiet lovely views close to town and local pubs and restaurants made to feel very welcome will be booking again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment - well recommended”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The booking process was very clear. We paid our deposit and then the balance prior to our stay and the owner Ken kept in touch first via email and then closer to our stay via text. We knew to expect a complimentary breakfast hamper but we never dreamt it would contain so much. We stayed for three nights and the food/drinks kept us going for the duration. Not only was there a basket of food/drinks, but there was also a jar of coffee, box of tea and a small fridge full of goodies. The small kitchen was also well stocked with cutlery/crockery. There was a microwave and a small oven/grill which I found simple to operate. The room is a good size as is the en-suite which contained full size shampoo/conditioner/liquid soap. When we arrived we had received instructions from Ken on how to gain entrance to the gated community, and we were able to park outside of the apartment. As you enter the front door, you enter a small hallway into another inner hallway which leads both to the apartment on the ground floor and also via another door to Ken's part of the house. We had complete privacy and also use of the books/games/dvds in the inner hallway. We stayed for 3 nights and soon found a shortcut to town. We had been to Chester the previous year so we know it pretty well now. I would definitely stay at Canal View again as long as the prices remain reasonable. It is fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the breakfast basket
Liked least: Nothing it was all fab
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing