We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position but really for the elderly coach market.”
Review of Madeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madeira Hotel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Nice hotel in a wonderful position overlooking the expanse of Falmouth Bay. Very friendly and helpful staff but the entire clientele appeared to consist of elderly coach trippers! The breakfast was plentiful and of good quality but was served at (your specified) table rather than being a buffet style. Some parts of the hotel look a bit tired. Good position for walks directly into town or around Pendents Point and the coast into town. Heard that the hotel is closing at the end of the season?

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016

We booked this hotel at the very last minute as the accommodation we had booked looked poor. The staff and in particular the reception member of staff made us feel very welcome. The hotel has a great view and is very relaxing. It does need some updating and a coat of paint here and there would help. The room we had was okay with an updated bathroom and a comfortable double bed. The only downside really was that we paid an amount that was a lot to high for the type of room that we had, as it was a room at the back of the hotel with no views. So if anyone books here, book a sea facing room.

Room Tip: Book a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonsie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Had a 2 night stay here the staff were welcoming and friendly but the hotel is very dated it needs some tlc. Its geared up for the elderly bus trips which is fine but i would not have booked if I had known this, At £196 I expected a better hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda16677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Just come back from the Madeira hotel and had a great week with good food and really helpful staff. Whilst there we were told they are due to demolish the building to replace it with 37 retirement homes. The hotel is rather dated and is certainly passed its best but I will be sorry to see it go as the location was great and so were all the staff who I hope find work quickly elsewhere.
Not sure when they are demolishing the place but take my advice and go and visit before they do… You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gtp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This hotel was on the top of our list for friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them, from the waiting staff to the manager they all worked as a team. The food was excellent in particular the English breakfast which set you up for the day. We are told that this hotel is to close its doors for the last time at the end of this year. A sad loss.

Room Tip: A sea view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 km away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,220 reviews
0.7 km away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
390 reviews
0.5 km away
Membly Hall Hotel
Membly Hall Hotel
#15 of 24 in Falmouth
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
641 reviews
0.6 km away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#17 of 24 in Falmouth
97 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: RM 169 - RM 240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madeira Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madeira Hotel - Falmouth [3 Alpha & AA 3 Star]. Beautifully situated on the seafront with attractive gardens, the Madeira commands splendid views to Pendennis Castle and across Falmouth Bay. 51 bedrooms with individual heating and private shower and WC (a few also have bath). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, TV with radio channels. Oak panelled cocktail bar and pleasant sun lounges with large picture windows facing the sea - delightful places to while away an afternoon. Restaurant with large dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing