We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
43
50
27
8
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
50
27
8
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apartment room missed breakfast kitchen area across the bridge view of the river the main car park a great stay full english short stay lovely breakfast visiting looe lovely view julie harbour pint
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Had a week in looe with my girlfriend and our 18 year old adhd son.

Hotel was lovely, nice cosy room for two and a perfectly acceptable single room. Cleanliness was good , the staff were lovely and the “steak special” was the cheapest in looe and very nice.

Looe is a VERY expensive place. The hotel was great.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank DavidTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcairns, Owner at The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks you for your comments and very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Enjoyed our stay during Looe Festival, great location, welcoming, clean and great breakfast. What more could you need. Very central in town, nice bar etc. Only criticism is they could have better sausages at breakfast and the bar could be open later during the festival.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a night. Was a last minute thing. Found the lady/I assume owner on reception miserable, unfriendly & not nice to be around. I avoided going down for breakfast in the morning as her awkwardness put me off. Rooms need updating too! Go next door to the bridgeside guest house. The man there is extremely welcoming and helpful, unfortunately they were fully booked.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank 93nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcairns, Owner at The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

So sorry you feel that way. You were the young lady who was being sick all morning. I heard you at 7.30 ad there is no way you could have come to breakfast you were still being sick at 10.30 and you said that you had a gastric problem. There really was nothing that I could have done to help you other than let you have a phone to get some help, which I did. You came in late afternoon from the tourist office as I recall and I asked if you needed any help with your bags. You said you would be having an early night and I didn't see you again until the morning when you asked for a phone. You really were very poorly.
The room that you stayed in had only just been decorated 6 months ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Good location for town /beach, bar good value. On websites offers fee parking at Millpool car park on arrival owner stated no longer offered for last 2 years but has not had this removed from websites but never advised us on booking email .Also no toiletries in the bathroom only carex hand wash strange for a 3 star hotel ! .Hotel seems to be still in 70s mode needs updating for todays travellers ,downstairs toilets still have a hand towels ,no dryer or paper towels not very hygienic Some staff not too helpful when requested white toast reply was it will probably come as a mixture. Overall would not visit until under new owner

Room Tip: Rooms at front with river view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186361Davids60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcairns, Owner at The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

So sorry that you weren't too happy with your stay. Yes the parking thing is a problem and I did apologise for this and yes you are right I should have had this sorted before now. We still have hand towels in the toilets and they are changed every day or more if need be. As for the 70s style, we are constantly upgrading our rooms but unfortunately we are only able to do four or five a year. We have been in the hotel for over 40 years and every year we spend thousands refurbishing the rooms. The bar and restaurant were done 4 years ago with oak flooring new bar, tables and chairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Great location and clean but generally very tired. Unfortunately on street parking and it's gets very busy down there! Breakfast wasn't the best. Double room with ensuite shower very cosy. Bar was lively and well attended by locals and residents.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank walkergirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcairns, Owner at The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thanks for your comments. We are constantly upgrading and decorating our rooms and unfortunately we can't do it all every year. We do try very hard though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews