We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$153
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$121
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talland Bay Hotel(Porthallow)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
41
47
25
7
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
47
25
7
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapartment roommissed breakfastenjoyed our staynice stayfull englishvisiting looelovely viewjulieharbourpint
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The Rivercroft Hotel is disappointing in every respect. The apartment wasn’t clean the carpet needed hoovering and there were dirty finger prints all around the bathroom door handle. We tried to shower on the first morning but the hot water was freezing cold. We were told to run it for a while because it took time to travel around the building, one hour later still no hot water. Cold showers are not what we anticipated on a weekend away !!
Breakfast was the worst we have ever experienced, the bacon was raw in places the fried eggs solid and over cooked, the tomatoes hard and undercooked and the mushrooms out of a tin. We ate out every meal including breakfast on the second morning. The owner was surly, rude and condescending and blatantly lied about the hot water issue, the hour had gone forward and clearly the problem was the timer on the central heating system not being adjusted. We all loved Looe and intend to return but we couldn’t wait to leave this awful hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank jjacks0n42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcairns, Owner at The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were so unhappy. Unfortunately you only told us of your problems as you were literally going out of the front door.
We did apologise for the problem with the hot water, the boiler timer had been reset and the water was hot when I went and checked it but you didn't believe me and went and checked yourself.
We have never had a review on our breakfast like this before and have been running the hotel for over 40 years.
Your family asked for the eggs to be well done and every other ingredient was fresh. Its just a pity you didn't say at the time and we could have done something about it.
If the problem on the first day was so bad you could have just checked out.
Our other guests over the weekend had no problems.
We wish you well when you return to Looe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 weeks whilst working locally. Beautiful hotel. Glenn and Julie will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Rooms are nice and clean. They are decorating while it's quiet so every effort is being made to keep the rooms and halls clean. Showers in all rooms and very comfy beds.
Bar is well stocked with lots of beers and happy (2) hours 5 - 7 is a great bonus when working a 10 hour shift.
Food is gorgeous and all freshly made.
I will definitely be back here if in the area.
Thanks for a welcoming stay

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank ste w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcairns, Owner at The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Had a week in looe with my girlfriend and our 18 year old adhd son.

Hotel was lovely, nice cosy room for two and a perfectly acceptable single room. Cleanliness was good , the staff were lovely and the “steak special” was the cheapest in looe and very nice.

Looe is a VERY expensive place. The hotel was great.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank DavidTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcairns, Owner at The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks you for your comments and very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Enjoyed our stay during Looe Festival, great location, welcoming, clean and great breakfast. What more could you need. Very central in town, nice bar etc. Only criticism is they could have better sausages at breakfast and the bar could be open later during the festival.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a night. Was a last minute thing. Found the lady/I assume owner on reception miserable, unfriendly & not nice to be around. I avoided going down for breakfast in the morning as her awkwardness put me off. Rooms need updating too! Go next door to the bridgeside guest house. The man there is extremely welcoming and helpful, unfortunately they were fully booked.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank 93nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcairns, Owner at The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

So sorry you feel that way. You were the young lady who was being sick all morning. I heard you at 7.30 ad there is no way you could have come to breakfast you were still being sick at 10.30 and you said that you had a gastric problem. There really was nothing that I could have done to help you other than let you have a phone to get some help, which I did. You came in late afternoon from the tourist office as I recall and I asked if you needed any help with your bags. You said you would be having an early night and I didn't see you again until the morning when you asked for a phone. You really were very poorly.
The room that you stayed in had only just been decorated 6 months ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews