We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly fun Hotel”
Review of Porth Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porth Lodge Hotel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Love this place. Excellent staff and wonderful food. Ten pin bowling lane and pool table. (Great Fun). Lovely old World pub. Just a few minutes walk from the beach. SORTED. They have self catering apartments and single or double rooms which have been decorated to a high standard...Clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We walked up here having seen a handmade sign on the beach (so yes they do work). The outside is that of a dated hotel needing some love. However the main bar is smashing.

It's traditional with beams and comfy seats. They serve some good, well kept ales but the recommendation of a pint of Betty was good enough for me. The barmaid was friendly, informative and a real asset to this place.

We've visited on two occasions now and it's very quiet early but fills up with a cheerful crowd of locals.

Tuesday nigh is tapas night. 3 dishes for £6 is a good price for this well cooked and well served Spanish fare. We over ordered and left stuffed, but that's tapas.

Nice pool table, definitely dog friendly and really comfy chairs.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SuggyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

First off, my parents and I have been coming to this hotel for 16 years and we have never been disappointed.
The rooms are lovely and comfy. The new owners have done a fantastic job with the refurbishment.
Ok, I'll admit there are a few areas of no wifi in the hotel, but that's no big thing for me. I just go downstairs to get better reception if I need to.
All of the staff and the owners are very friendly. It's excellent value for money and looking forward to going back next year.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Why aren't the owners listening to these reviews!! The place is shabby and dirty. The bowling area is filthy so are the shoes. The bar man is more interested in his phone!!. The beer isnt the best and the wine is cheap tasting. As locals we are used to helping keep our social places open in the winter / this is now off our list. Needs a full refurb and cleaners who know their job. Get a grip or give it up!!

Stayed: April 2016
9  Thank bunchofwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Brilliant tapas on Tuesday nights. Very reasonably priced. Try the old bar, just refurbished .Friendly,warm atmosphere and a log fire. Bowling alley in other bar if you feel active. Dogs welcome and not far from a field to run them.

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank scooby260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.8 km away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
515 reviews
2.3 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
1.6 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
934 reviews
4.2 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Lodge Hotel

Address: Porth Lodge Porth Bean Road, Newquay TR7 3LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: RM296 - RM433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Porth Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing