We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay”
Review of Porth Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porth Lodge Hotel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We have been visiting every couple of years for about the last 20 years. Staff are friendly and there is always a lovely breakfast and evening meal. Porth Lodge is clean, comfortable and welcoming. Yes there may not be great wi-fi and maybe the decor in the rooms isn't the most modern however, these things aren't important to us. Great value for money and we look forward to seeing you again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank suffolkbluebell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

Lots of good things about this place. We arrived early and as our room was ready we were able to check in early. Carol was really helpful. Very comfortable bed. Our room was really clean. Breakfast was good - really appreciated the fruit and yogurt and our poached eggs were perfectly cooked. The old bar was comfortable and the beer was good. Plenty of room in the free car park just round the corner from the main entrance. A very short walk down the lane to the most beautiful beach - loved it! Lucky to have glorious sunhine and to have a great Sunday evening at the Mermaid Inn which is literally on the beach. A couple of small things that could have made the stay even better: couldn't find a hairdryer in the room (I couldhave asked but just managed without) and the shower wasn't the most powerful but was adequate. Altogether a great stay in a great location and we'd definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed for a weekend and the room was poor, no extraction in en-suite and had that damp smell. Was overpriced for what it was. The food and service was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Generally very basic and the bed was very uncomfortable and the duvet very thin.
Would I go back....probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank LHJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth L, Manager at Porth Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Hi. Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that the extractor in your en-suite was not working we will check all our en-suite extractors as soon as possible. We have just changed many of our duvets to summer weight but maybe a little too early for some. For future customers please inform us of any issues with your accommodation during your visit if possible, this will give us a chance to improve your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Love this place. Excellent staff and wonderful food. Ten pin bowling lane and pool table. (Great Fun). Lovely old World pub. Just a few minutes walk from the beach. SORTED. They have self catering apartments and single or double rooms which have been decorated to a high standard...Clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We walked up here having seen a handmade sign on the beach (so yes they do work). The outside is that of a dated hotel needing some love. However the main bar is smashing.

It's traditional with beams and comfy seats. They serve some good, well kept ales but the recommendation of a pint of Betty was good enough for me. The barmaid was friendly, informative and a real asset to this place.

We've visited on two occasions now and it's very quiet early but fills up with a cheerful crowd of locals.

Tuesday nigh is tapas night. 3 dishes for £6 is a good price for this well cooked and well served Spanish fare. We over ordered and left stuffed, but that's tapas.

Nice pool table, definitely dog friendly and really comfy chairs.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SuggyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.8 km away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
515 reviews
2.3 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#20 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
1.6 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
934 reviews
4.2 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Lodge Hotel

Address: Porth Lodge Porth Bean Road, Newquay TR7 3LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: RM297 - RM436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Porth Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing