We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$235
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$138
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
US$244
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berties Lodge(Newquay)
US$145
US$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
The Blue Room(Newquay)
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
AbreakAway(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
51
60
12
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
60
12
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleyten pin bowlingtable football and poolpleasant stayshort walk to the beachnice breakfastfull english breakfastcoastal pathfamily roomyogurtcarolskittlesbunkdog
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We have been visiting every couple of years for about the last 20 years. Staff are friendly and there is always a lovely breakfast and evening meal. Porth Lodge is clean, comfortable and welcoming. Yes there may not be great wi-fi and maybe the decor in the rooms isn't the most modern however, these things aren't important to us. Great value for money and we look forward to seeing you again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank suffolkbluebell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Lots of good things about this place. We arrived early and as our room was ready we were able to check in early. Carol was really helpful. Very comfortable bed. Our room was really clean. Breakfast was good - really appreciated the fruit and yogurt and our poached eggs were perfectly cooked. The old bar was comfortable and the beer was good. Plenty of room in the free car park just round the corner from the main entrance. A very short walk down the lane to the most beautiful beach - loved it! Lucky to have glorious sunhine and to have a great Sunday evening at the Mermaid Inn which is literally on the beach. A couple of small things that could have made the stay even better: couldn't find a hairdryer in the room (I couldhave asked but just managed without) and the shower wasn't the most powerful but was adequate. Altogether a great stay in a great location and we'd definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed for a weekend and the room was poor, no extraction in en-suite and had that damp smell. Was overpriced for what it was. The food and service was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Generally very basic and the bed was very uncomfortable and the duvet very thin.
Would I go back....probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank LHJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth L, Manager at Porth Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Hi. Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that the extractor in your en-suite was not working we will check all our en-suite extractors as soon as possible. We have just changed many of our duvets to summer weight but maybe a little too early for some. For future customers please inform us of any issues with your accommodation during your visit if possible, this will give us a chance to improve your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Love this place. Excellent staff and wonderful food. Ten pin bowling lane and pool table. (Great Fun). Lovely old World pub. Just a few minutes walk from the beach. SORTED. They have self catering apartments and single or double rooms which have been decorated to a high standard...Clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We walked up here having seen a handmade sign on the beach (so yes they do work). The outside is that of a dated hotel needing some love. However the main bar is smashing.

It's traditional with beams and comfy seats. They serve some good, well kept ales but the recommendation of a pint of Betty was good enough for me. The barmaid was friendly, informative and a real asset to this place.

We've visited on two occasions now and it's very quiet early but fills up with a cheerful crowd of locals.

Tuesday nigh is tapas night. 3 dishes for £6 is a good price for this well cooked and well served Spanish fare. We over ordered and left stuffed, but that's tapas.

Nice pool table, definitely dog friendly and really comfy chairs.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SuggyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews