We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect fish and chips!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flounders

Flounders
Ranked #18 of 229 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Fish and Chip Shop Take - Away with convenience seating area. Local Delivery Available. Telephone orders welcome. Daily Specials.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect fish and chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had been looking forward to fish and chips in the evening, having cycled from Newquay to Padstow and back again (28 miles of steep hills!). We absolutely hit the jackpot at Flounders - superb fresh fish and the best chips we've had for a very long time. Service was excellent and the facilities were spotless. Thank you!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    63
    17
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
great yarmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

ive never tasted such lovely fish and chips,the service was fast the food was hot and the staff were very friendly and welcoming

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is by far the best Fish n Chippy in Newquay. Anyone who doesn't like it shouldn't be eating fish & chips!

The staff are always friendly, the kitchen always looks emaculate and the food is always tasty!

I eat here regulary and have never had a bad dish served up to me!

Do not eat in any of the other chippy's in town you will be disappointed!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefacehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“QUALITY FISH AND CHIPS!!!!!! QUALITY STAFF!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Really good fish and chips me and my wife visit Newquay 4 or 5 times a year and we always go to Flounders.When you ask for cod you get cod not pollock like other chippys in Newquay mentioning no names, ignore all the bad reviews especially about breaking your teeth in my opinion that is a calcium deficiency and needs to visit dentist more often.Knowing the staff at flounders I'm sure they'll have taken this very serious. Highly recommended staff wonderful !!!!!!! CAN'T WAIT TO GO AGAIN
P.S WE TRAVEL 350 MILES TO GO HERE :- )

DAVE AND JESS

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Decided to eat in. Regretted this when we were given plastic knives and forks and sat four to a table not much larger than a stool.
On biting into a chip I cracked my front tooth in half! I was told it must have been a small stone and asked don't we find stones in our potatoes at home? Duh...no!!
No offer of recompense. Not even the meal for free, which we left anyhow as we had lost our appetite as you can imagine, just a promise that if I left my contact details the manager would be in touch.
He never did get in touch and I was left with a huge bill at my dentists.
Avoid this place or at the very least chew cautiously!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fastlane2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flounders also viewed

 

Been to Flounders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing