We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
184
14
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
14
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housegarden roomexcellent full english breakfastnothing is too much troubleroom was spotlesssmall fridgeholiday experiencequality ingredientsoff street parkingfresh fruitperfect basequiet locationshort walk into townstayed for nightsthought of everythingfew minutes walk awaynearest beach
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We chose this guesthouse on the excellent reviews found on this site and we were not disappointed! All the recent reviews are very genuine and the recommendations that they state about the approach Julie and Jim adopt to running their accommodation are correct. As hosts we found them extremely friendly and professional. We stayed in their first floor room, which was lovely and very well equipped. Everything was incredibly clean and well maintained. We loved the small touches, such as a tea-pot in the room, the small ( and quiet!) fridge and the small security deposit box. The parking area too was excellent and the short walk into town along by the beaches is fine. We have previously stayed closer to the harbour area in Newquay, but now we've discovered Tregarthen, we will not do so again - the seagulls in that part of town are much noisier! We realise that accommodation rates need to be competitive in Newquay, but Tregarthen gave us excellent value for money too! We will definitely look to stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the only first floor room, but the ground floor rooms at the front looked spacious too.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RPDSPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thank you for great review and brill score, much appreciated by us both, hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Professionally run guesthouse that understands its guests and goes out of its way to cater to their needs. Julie and Jim(invisible but makes a mean breakfast) run this beautiful guest house about 10 mins brisk walk from sea front.
Rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated - you could be forgiven for thinking you are in a 4 star hotel.
Knowledge of the area is worth dipping into for ideas / excellent coffee at breakfast along with a really good choice. And to cap things off -they allow you to bring food back in and have provided cutlery and plates and fridge along with a small table and chairs for thise days when you don't fancy eating out again - brilliant
We look forward to making a return

Room Tip: Front rooms are slighter bigger - more chance of noise but didn't cause us too much disruption
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

thank you for an amazing review so pleased we were too your liking, your words are so lovely and mean alot to us hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Could not fault our 4night stay at the tregarthen guesthouse. From the moment we walked through the door we felt more then welcome. The owners are extremely polite and lovely.
The room itself was a comfortable size, clean, and well maintained and upto date. Came with tea/coffee and where told where we could help ourselves to more if needed. An extra to the room was we had a small fridge which was great!! (Unexpected).. so we could buy and store juices etc and keep them cool!
Breakfast was exceptional and very well presented! Their was a nice spread of cereals, fresh fruits and yoghurts to help yourself to before cooked breakfast. Aswel as that you had a good choice of hot breakfast and a self serve tea and coffee machine with a variety of choices! The service was outstanding and quick.
After staying here I can see why the reviews are highly rated for the guesthouse. We would definitely stay here again if we visit Newquay in the future!
(We already miss the breakfasts!! :-) )

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank -missreviwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your great review score and lovely words, we appreciate the time u have taken in writing this, and hope you will return again one day Julie :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Tregarthen house is an outstanding geusthouse, warm and friendly, hostes Julie and Jim make such a good team keeping the guesthouse exepsionaly clean, the breakfast menu is superb and every breakfast we had were well presented and cooked to perfection. Another plus side is that all the guests were couples so no screaming children. We will defenatly be visiting tregarthen house again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank david1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi thank you for your lovely review it's most appreciated, so pleased we were to your liking, hope u come back again next year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Back yesterday from a couple of nights at Tregarthen. Excellent experience. Very comfortable room with good fixtures and fittings. Larger than average sized and comfortable bed. Everything seemed new and well maintained which is a credit to the owners as it is near the end of the summer season. Breakfast was excellent with good choice and quality ingredients. Nice little extra touches such as crockery and spanners for take-aways and a good sized fridge. Friendly and welcoming. Quiet location. Thank you Julie.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIESPRINGETT, Owner at Tregarthen Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi thank you for your great review, putting the cutlery and plates in for takeaways is a firm favrouite with a lot of our guests, as there's time u just want to chill after a busy day sightseeing , hope to see u again one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews