We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilbirnie Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$158
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$150
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$212
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
66
74
60
23
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
74
60
23
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolsea viewfull englishtea bagsnice breakfastcoach partieseaster weekendstayed here for nightsrooms were very cleantolcarne beachbreakfast and dinnertown centrewonderful staycomfy bedcooked breakfastshort breaksauna
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This place could’ve been so nice had they of renovated the whole place not just entrance and function room. Rooms where fine but basic, bed was tiny but surprising comfy and bathroom was nice. However the room was freezing and I spent half the night shivering. So no sleep. The view out the window is shocking. The prices at the bar appear to change every time you get a drink and no heating in the bar because your not busy this time of year? No lights on in the ladies toilets. Didn’t eat in restaurant, pleased because the smell coming from that kitchen was vile. It smelt like a nursing home. Soundproofing- can hear every conversation going on everywhere!!! This place is so badly run. We had a group booking and we all had breakfast included on our booking yet when we arrived were informed only the lead booker had breakfast included!!!! Why is this? I am shocked at this place o really am. There are so many nicer places to stay in Newquay. The B&B suited our requirements but I’d rather spend my money elsewhere. I feel robbed of my money

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Annaslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Guest Relations Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018


We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. The heating was fully turned up on your floor so there was no reason you should have been cold, had you have called down to reception we would have looked into this, the reception desk is manned 24 hours. The kitchen was closed the night you stayed so we can only assume that someone had walked through the corridor with a take away prior to you walking through. In terms of inclusion of breakfast, we sent confirmations and had telephone conversations on more than one occasion with your organiser as we picked up theirs was the only room booked that included breakfast and had a sea view, this we were assured was correct and I believe they worked out an individual rate you would each pay that was not anything to do with our hotel. This is why your breakfast was not included, as a gesture of goodwill we offered the additional breakfasts at a discount if required, a gesture that was not taken up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Booked as We had to wave daughter partner & our little grandson off to Canada to live thought it would do us good to have a night away .we have only live in St Ives but it was worth £65 a night plus breakfast was included . Staff very professional & nothing was too much trouble . The pool & sauna/jacuzzi was lovely & the rooms were very clean & beds really comfy.Breakfast was lovely & whatever we wanted was there.My mum & Dad stayed next door & they were happy too .The staff recommended the local Indian restaurant The Maharajah ....we had the most wonderful night ,the owner was an amazing character & lovely food ....we would love to come back again .Weatherspoon’s was good too with lovely staff . Made a very traumatic day a little better .....thank-you so much

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank nikichikaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Guest Relations Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, we are glad out local knowledge was of benefit to you and you made some new friends at the Maharajah. Was a pleasure to meet you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We travelled by coach (our group was actually 2 coaches!) and the holiday was organised by a local company in our hometown of Southampton, who always deliver quality and great customer service. This group consisted of couples, singles, and small family /friend groups. Most of us would be over 65.....

We arrived on 23rd December to a wonderful reception from the owners and staff. The hotel is family run and the family dog was on duty to check us in and out of the dining room...

Bedrooms and public rooms are clean, bright and airy, and there is a lift.The pool and hot tub/spa were welcoming, however there was a cover to be removed from each before using, and it wasn't easy to replace the one on the pool alone. Staff will help though, just ask!
The food was to die for.... and the evening entertainment excellent.
No professional entertainers during Christmas Day, but we had horse racing , bingo and a quiz. then a singer in the evening.
On Boxing Day we went into Truro for the pantomime at the Hall for Cornwall, that was excellent too.
( A point regarding the seating at this entertainment venue, it must be safe, but for people a little unsure on their legs, and having balance issues the raised seating in several places had low guards and few if any easy hold hand rails, if you wanted to get out of your seat during the performance, good luck.... If you go to a show at this venue, choose your seat carefully).
The hotel provided a happy family environment with excellent meals, a gift from Santa and the companionship of man's best friend..value for money certainly.

Room Tip: our rooms were allocated we didn't get to choose.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Guest Relations Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you had a great stay at a magical time of the year, we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Just spent the New Year in this hotel and enjoyed the food, the staff were very friendly and helpful and always smiling. Everywhere was well decorated, clean and well kept. Our room was huge with comfortable beds and bed linen and beautiful white towels .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Our first time in Newquay and when I booked I requested a sea view... I wasn't dissapointed....the room was clean as was the hotel. The staff were brilliant. Lovely friendly manner,where nothing was too much,happy to let us know about decent places to eat out, places of interest etc.... cannot comment about food,as we ate out every night,but for the price we paid for the room,it was well worth it. Yes the outside needs attention,I'm sure it's seen better days, and could be seen as slightly old fashioned,but don't let that put you off...it's in a great location,beaches on the doorstep. The indoor pool was fabulous,clean and good temperature. All in all we enjoyed our stay,and slept like babies...(the beds were so comfortable.... )

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews