We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Quies(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

AbreakAway(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$175
US$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Alderberry Lodge(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$66
LateRooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$250
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summer Breeze(Newquay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveller rating
403
327
134
54
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
327
134
54
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsteam barsea viewoverflow car parkparking spacecornish breakfastfantastic viewsper daywater pressurebooked this hotelgreat roomstayed for nightsfish and chipsthe cliffcomfy bedtolcarne beachshort break
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 966 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I came again when finishing my coastal walk. Stunning views and a lovely place to unwind. The steak was good and well prepared. Well done. The hotel is well situated for some wonderful views of the sea.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank chris504019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Chris,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your steak, you probably had a good appetite after walking the Cornish coastal path! We use only local suppliers and believe that this is what visitors to Cornwall prefer and is evident in the quality of our food, whilst supporting local food producers.
We hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

great location on main street. great sea views. friendly staff. clean. good food in bar. large rooms. DOWNSIDE poor sound proofing in bedrooms corridors are a bit of a maze TIPS have a rear room .they have the sea views. upgrade to a larger room . pay extra to park at hotel .it can be a nightmare to get a parking space close to the hotel. would I stay here again. YES

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Tom,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am pleased you appreciated the standards of service and our lovely location. I agree totally with your tips to book a premium or superior room at the rear of the hotel to take advantage of the coastal views and to book a car parking in advance, which at £5 per night is cheaper than local public car parks.
We look forward to seeing you when you stay again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We were met with a smile and excellent service. We chose the Sunday lunch roast beef. A stunning meal for less than a tenner. Views to die for. We ate on the terrace overlooking the sea. We will certainly come here again

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank togdominus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us, we prepare this using fresh local ingredients and get many compliments on it.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

The staff were polite and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel rooms seem to be undergoing renovations as the room my daughter and son-in-law had was opened by a Yale key where as ours was opened by an electronic key card. Both rooms were light, airy and clean. My daughter and son-in-law's room housed both a single and a double bed and was big enough to also have a travel cot. Unfortunately their en suite bathroom which had a corner shower was no where near big enough to allow my daughter to shower her 2 year old son. When it was explained to reception they were offered a room with an en suite wet room.
Our bedroom was spacious enough to house a big dressing table which incorporated the tea and coffee making facilities without making the table area seem small.
There was plenty of beverage variety with both decaffeinated and ordinary coffee as well as hot chocolate and at least 4 different types of tea along with 2 types of Cornish biscuits. Apart from the mugs there were also 2 disposable cups with lids which my grandson used as his cups. One of the overhead lamps had to have the bulb removed as it flickered which could have triggered a seizure but with that lamp on the dressing table there was more than enough light without having to turn on the main light.
Our room overlooked the Indian restaurant's carpark and with no net curtain I felt uncomfortable dressing and undressing without closing the main curtains. Perhaps a muslin curtain could be put up so that if you wished to block out the possibility of someone seeing you dressing you could draw it and it would still allow enough light in without having to draw the main curtains. Just a suggestion!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank kcarmichael2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that we were able to move your daughter and son-in-law into a room that was more suitable for showering their son, if you advise us of special requests such as a bath rather than a shower when booking we can ensure the correct room is allocated.
I am sorry that you felt there was room for improvement, we are constantly reviewing our rooms and the service we offer so take notice of all feed back given.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed here for the first half of the Easter weekend and booked online for two nights. There were no Seaview rooms available to I booked the best they had left, I thought I would drop the hotel an email to ask if one became available we would like to upgrade, Josie came straight back to me and offered the "Bridal Suite" which was not a lot more money and she said had stunning views. We opted for that and paid a small amount of money for a reserved parking space.

She wasn't wrong about the views....WOW the room was huge, clean and modern and had massive windows all round with panoramic views in both directions up the coast. You can even see the sea from the bed. The bathroom was also large with a double shower and a bath. One very minor thing that I can suggest to management that would have made our stay absolutely spot on would have been to have dressing gowns in the room. The room has these fabulous views and lovely chairs to sit in the window and enjoy but when getting up in the morning it would have been lovely to have sat with our coffee in a cosy dressing gown and take in the scenery before getting dressed and again after a bath in the evening to be able to sit there and enjoy the beautiful sunset before heading out for the evening (We sat with towels round us)

We would most definitely recommend this hotel and particularly this room if you are looking for something a little bit special. The food was lovely, we had breakfast each day and had dinner once. The reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful and a big shout out to Josie for recommending such a fab room.

Room Tip: The Bridal Suite is superb! Room 217
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOPH724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.

I am pleased that Josie was able to move your booking into our Bridal Suite, it is a very special room with a lovely view. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews