We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home.”
Review of Carnson House

Carnson House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnson House
Ranked #59 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Carnson House B & B remains our favourite base for exploring West Cornwall. It's central site is so convenient, it's relaxing and the warmth and hospitality of Rob and Belinda have brought us back year after year.
Breakfast is substantial, caters for most needs and offers a wide variety. Our comfortable room was more than adequate for our needs with an en-suite shower / toilet.
Any car parking difficulties can be avoided by simply leaving your car at home. Both the rail and the bus termini are just across the road providing extensive services to all tourist attractions.
My wife and I have consistently enjoyed staying at Carnson House over many years. We recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CornwallMightymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Carnson House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. Always a pleasure to see you both. Up the clarets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

Having arrived off the evening ferry from Scilly we arranged to overnight here before the drive home. Our room at the front was on the small side but was very well appointed, clean and comfortable - the en suite likewise. We had anticipated some disturbance from traffic noise as our room is situated at the front of the building, but in the event Penzance seems to go to bed quite early so we enjoyed a good night's sleep. The breakfast room is bright and cheery and the breakfast - apart from slightly weak coffee - was excellent both in quality and presentation. The owners were pleasant and welcoming and seemed to take pride in setting and maintaining a high standard of service.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeJay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Carnson House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Arrived here for a one night stay at 8am off the overnight sleeper train from London. Rob and Belinda allowed us to check in early upon arrival instead of waiting for the allotted time of 10am (which we found very helpful as we were going out for the day to Land's End). After a tiring day we found our room cosy and comfortable and had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was of great quality and cooked to perfection by Rob. As we were getting the sleeper train back to London that day, Rob and Belinda allowed us to leave our bags until we were ready to collect them later that night, even though we had checked out that morning. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSandKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Carnson House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We booked this Place for our second stop of a trip from Liverpool to Cornwall. It seemed like a decent place from the pictures. When we pulled up outside. my wife said. "I'm not going in to that " Anyway after paying a massive £85 I didn't want to pay for another so we went in. I was greeted with the owner and a very powerful smell of cooking oil. I was showed our double box room. which was booked as a twin.The decor of the room was of a very low standard. the ceiling and walls had about 100 layers of paint on them. the woodwork was tired a painted over damage. old electrical fittings from the 1950s were just left on and covered with paint. The curtains were Chintz along with the matching bed cover. The place was very clean and breakfast was a good standard. but serving a good breakfast is not good enough to ballance out the condition of the room. Sorry I would not Recommend this dodgy digs to travellers. I would not be so harsh about this review if the price was lower. I expect better standards of accommodation for £85 !!!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Carnson House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

I do not know how anyone could say " am not going in that" from the look of our front as we have NEW double glazed window and NEW front door. We have beautiful flowers in our front garden and its kept clean and tidy. Our curtains and bedding is not chintz?. My husband did give you the wrong room, you were as you said booked into a twin, rob did apologise and you said "not to worry its fine". Our walls and celling's are papered and yes then painted but they were re- painted in January as was the wood work but people bang luggage on it this is where the damage comes from. Thank you for the nice comment about the breakfast and the cleaning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

located by the train station, town center and bus depot. Place is very clean and owners very friendly. Always a warm welcome on our arrival ( have stayed there a number of times), Breakfast is always made fresh and is well cooked with a choice of menu, Lots of tea, coffee etc in room Will keep going back, once you have found a good place to stay, not much point in changing. Keep up the great work guys.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Owner at Carnson House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you. Its always great to see you guys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
839 reviews
2 km away
The Beachfield
The Beachfield
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
1.8 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#70 of 82 in Penzance
68 reviews
0.9 km away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#43 of 82 in Penzance
277 reviews
2 km away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#56 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnson House

Address: 2 East Terrace, Penzance TR18 2TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: RM335 - RM462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnson House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Carnson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnson House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing