We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“magnificent property,perfect for relaxing or...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of DOLPHIN HOUSE

Dolphin House viewed from the front patio garden and Dolphin St (Pedestrianised)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dolphin House viewed from the front patio garden and Dolphin St (Pedestrianised)
Front terrace Dolphin House from Dolphin Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Dolphin House viewed from the front patio garden and Dolphin St (Pedestrianised)
Front terrace
Dolphin House from Dolphin Street
Rear access gate
Rear garden
Rear garden
Rear Garden
Rear garden
Dolphin house front door
Dining room with access to the rear garden
Dining room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen - access to the rear garden
Kitchen - access to the rear garden
Double bedroom with view over the garden
(continued..) double bedroom with view over the garden
Double Bedroom at the front of the property
(continued..) double Bedroom at the front of the property
(continued..) double Bedroom at the front of the property
Twin bedroom on 1st floor
(continued..) Twin bedroom on 1st floor
1st floor family bathroom
(continued..) 1st floor family bathroom
Twin bedroom 2nd floor
Twin bedroom 2nd floor
(continued..) twin bedroom 2nd floor
(continued..) twin bedroom 2nd floor
2nd floor bathroom
2nd floor shower room
(continued..) 2nd floor shower room
Port Isaac harbour, also known as the Platt, tides out - happens twice a day leaving rock pools for
Port Isaac harbour and the fishing boats
Port Isaac from Church Hill< dolphin House is in the middle
view from a balcony, well Golden Lion pub's actually,  21/6/13, nice place for longest day!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port Isaac, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
catterall...
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“magnificent property,perfect for relaxing or partying”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have stayed at Dolphin House previously and ,although we are not usually given to review on Tripadvisor ,and after seeing some negative comments ,felt we should make our comments known.
We had the most delightful stay in December with a group of friends and the redecorations were evident as soon as we got in the door.Every room looked as it had been painted the week before,carpets had been replaced and new Oak furniture in the bedroom.Best bit of all was the new beds/mattresses which were obviously expensive and very comfortable.
With its new makeover the house has lost non of its charm or character-the floors are still wonky and the stairs still creak-but its real appeal is that it is big enough for large groups to stay and have room to relax or all get round the table and crack open a few bottles.
Sleep or Party in the most Cornish Village of them all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beds and mattresses
Liked least: the road in is very narrow,so we left our car at the top of the village
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you Very much. Dolphin House is in the beautiful rustic village of Port Isaac which we have been visiting for 30 years or more. Lucky enough to own it we rent it out to bring tourist revemue into the village and spend all income on it, its been a 20 year labour of love. The couple of critisisms hurt and we tackled a few issues and have come into 2016 with a redecorated house with some nice new furniture in bedrooms. The lounge is big and has large cosy sofas for spawling on and relaxing. Its great to see that what we've done is appreciated. We look forward to our guests this year from all over the World again, and hopefully we will have you and your family back again too.
Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRealCC...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Dolphin House with friends and it certainly exceeded our expectations. The cottage is easy to find and very well presented. Having read previous reviews about some of the décor requiring an update, it would seem that the owners have taken action - we thought it was lovely!

Port Isaac has a lot to offer and Dolphin House is in a great spot... We took advantage of this, visiting local restaurants and places to drink, as well as making the most of being just a few minutes from the sea.

All in all I'd have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay in Port Isaac and I expect to be visiting again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
How very rude, i missed your review. Thank you, i really hope you return soon and enjoy DH as much as i enjoyed your review
Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
padme50
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful outside, a mess on the inside”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Dolphin House is a charming old house. The property and it's location are a dream. Port Isaac is a beautiful fishing village and we absolutely loved it!

We were welcomed to the house with nice flowers and a bottle of prosecco but the general cleanliness of the house was not what we expected. Bed linens & towels nice and clean but kitchen surfaces sticky, floors in need of a good sweep; carpets in need of vacuuming. Overall this holiday rental is beautiful on the outside but a let down on the inside.

Paint is coming off the walls & ceiling (1st floor bathroom & twin bedroom w cot for example). Windows do not open/close, especially on 2nd floor which makes it a problem due to seagulls nesting on your roof making it dirty and a health hazard. The carpets are old and if you look under the beds you can see that it has not been vacuumed in some time. The 1st floor bathroom door handle needs to be replaced and the toilet seat is loose.

I was expecting more in terms of decor. Dining room ok but the run down and old sofas make the living room uninviting. King size bed bedrooms are ok but all other metal frame single beds are squeaky- and a nightmare to sleep in if you move. Also, all the mattresses are so bad that you can feel the springs when you lie down to sleep! (One of the king size mattresses was changed while we were there). The drawers do not open in the small chest of drawers in the twin beds & cot bedroom - which is the only place you can put clothing in.

In a climate such as Cornwall's, having a dryer is necessary. You need to be able to wash & DRY clothes, especially with kids.

The garden needs looking after. We were looking forward to grilling but the BBQ grill is completely rusty and sits on the ground all dirty.

We have rented quite a few properties in the past and this is the first time we have come across a property that we would definitely not come back to. Sorry for being so blunt but I there is an opportunity to put some effort into making DH what it should be- spectacular inside & out!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Thank you, I am pleased you found DH charming and its location a dream, these are things that cannot be improved On. However I am disappointed several issues detracted from your stay: some I have dealt with immediately including substantial redecoration which was possibly necessary in areas after a very busy couple of years. New and returning guests (most guests are returning guets, some for 15 years or so) will see the work done. Im sorry aboutbthe loo seat and door lock, I asked the repair man to sort twice while you were there but he overlooked, again apologies, it must have been a little nuisance. The new wooden sash windows throughout generally all open but one or two are difficult to open as painted recently, I will attend to. With regards the beds, both doubles have been changed to Kings with new mattresses and new furniture in several bedrooms to improve storage space. The recently purchased steel frame singles are substantial and accomodate adults, I have tightened any loose fastenings, but assure you these are comfy beds and this is the first complaint in the 2-3 years the beds have been in place and used by adults and children alike.
With regards general cleaning I cannot remember a complaint in the last 10 years, our standards are high but perhaps not to the extreme, we provide a clean very cosy large cottage style house - its not St Ives or Rock chic, if thats what you are looking for DH and Port Isaac are not for you.
Im please you liked the dining room infact in conversation you said you loved it, as did the children who stayed with you, who wrote they loved the house in the guests book.
I will replace the BBQ annually, guests are requested to leave this clean and covered but often forget, and the salty fresh air can attack metal structures, even stainless steel ones which I purchase.
The seagulls are part of Port Isaac, I am no expert here but doubt there is a direct health hazard unless you were to interfere with them.
NB One factor that may have caused some reduction in comfort is that I allowed 11 people to stay when it should be a maximum of 10. On this occassion I provided an extra mattress but whilst the house is large , I will not allow this again.
I have taken your critisism constructively, and since you stayed in August (now November) I have atteneded to those that I thought needed attention. In conclusion I think perhaps overall a seaside holiday in a comfy cosy cottage within a minutes walking of the sea and coast path is not for everyone, I hope you have more success in future finding accomodation.
Again thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful Cornish house with bags of space”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this lovely house and wouldn't hesitate in going back there.
In f&s t, we've been recommending it ever since.

Our group spent the week in and around port isaac and the house was a great base to chill out at, either by the beautiful wood burning fire in the lounge or in the lovely garden with a nice Barbeque.

The property is quirky and it's great that the original features are all still present to give it that cottage type feel.
Loved it and can't wait to go back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Could do with a wireless speaker rather than CD player
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Im glad you had a great time, thanks for your comments and recommendations! Hope you return again soon to enjoy PI and Dolphin House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaandAm...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Port Isaac”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed here for my first visit to Cornwall in 2014 and re-booked this year.
It was once again, fantastic with highlights of the house being: Central location, beautiful gardens, lovely decor, bags of space and comfortable sofas and beds.
The garage is snug but I managed to get my Range Rover Evoque in there no problem.
I will not hesitate in booking Dolphin Hoise again next year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private garden
Liked least: Up hill walk to bus stop!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Thank you. Im delighted you enjoyed Dolphin House again this year. Interesting and valued comments, pleased you could get your car in the garage, it is tight but Ive done it for years in large and small cars - even If you dont fancy the narrow roads down into and around the lower village then parking at the "top" is easy and cheap and just a short walk down to DH and you can always drive down, drop your luggage by the back door and park on one of the top car parks if the garage looks a little tight for you to park and get out of your car. Im a big blike and manage it but understand if its a little awkward for some drivers.IT ALL ADDS TO THE CHARM OF DOLPHIN HOUSE, AND AS YOU MENTION ITS LOCATION IS AWESOME. Glad you liked the decorations and new beds.
I hope you and your family & friends (and well behaved doggy) return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing