We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Isaac and Portwenn, Walk & Talk Guided Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent

What a fantastic tour found out lots of interesting information the guide was very informative a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
2manw
,
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
via mobile
Mike Meakins Port Isaac Doc Martin walking Tour

Many, many of the behind- the-scenes stories and various locations of the filming of Doc Martin as... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Ride4ever123
,
Denver, Colorado
Read all 459 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Port Isaac
from US$20.30
More Info
from US$859.81
More Info
from US$676.53
More Info
from US$896.43
More Info
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
399
38
10
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
399
38
10
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour doc martin fans behind the scenes local history thanks mike narrow streets tv show his knowledge informative tour an absolute cream tea insight nuts stories filming series information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Got into Port Isaac and noticed the sign for the tour. Reluctantly my husband agreed to it and John proceeded to win him over with his knowledge, wit and humor!!! This tour is very highly recommended!!

1  Thank Tanja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 November 2013

walk and talk with john. we saw and heard so much more than just about doc martin. he loves his village, john, and it shows. lots of anecdotes, history, local feelings etc. thoroughly recommend it. it just is like I said, the icing on the cake for our st isaac's visit.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Leny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband noticed the small poster in 'May Contain Nuts' shop window so we signed up on the spot, one of the best ten pounds each we've spent. John is laid back, amusing, informative, happy to answer questions. Doc Martin was only part of the tour and we enjoyed that side of it, but we also got an insider's story about a small fishing village in the old days and how things have changed over the years, learned about the lifeboats and rescues, the current economy......and a few funny stories as well about the villagers and the film crews. Well done, John, and thanks for the cuppa afterwards. Yes, we're Doc Martin fans, that's why we visited Port Isaac, but had we not taken this tour with John we'd probably have walked down the hill and up the other side, had a photo taken outside the Doc's house and another by the school, got a photo view of the whole bay, had a cuppa and left within the hour. The tour opens your eyes to the village and the TV show and makes the trip to Port Isaac well worthwhile.
Note: park at the New Road carpark, not too far to walk down to the village. And we had a good lunch at the Old School Hotel.

Date of experience: October 2013
2  Thank AliNel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you do nothing else when you visit lovely Port Isaac, you must go on one of John's walks round the village. Not only is he very informative knowing every nook and cranny of the place - both the real village and fictional - he is a great guy and is busting with funny stories and anecdotes. He is also a member of the folk group, Fisherman's Friends who we hope will start to perform again soon to the public. John was also a fisherman and so has inside knowledge into the fishing industry that still continues in the village. You must go on his walk!

Date of experience: October 2013
2  Thank Bracken3Haslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This area is quaint, old and bustling with visitors. Sadly you can only drive through the town out of season otherwise park at the top and walk down to appreciate the area.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Keene003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews