We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
35
21
11
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
21
11
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoastal pathcarbis bayst ives town centremain stfull englishclean roomspleasant staystayed nightsfresh fruit saladevery morningsmoked salmonlands endmin walkguest houseon arrivalsea viewpete
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. We (11 of us) were in Cornwall to attend a wedding in nearby St Ives.

Beechwood is situated in beautiful Carbis bay which is a short drive from St Ives town centre.

Our host 'Jan' and her lovely daughter took great care of us.

We occupied 6 rooms in this homely guesthouse so we were able to see the variants and they were all lovely.

Clean en suite rooms, clean linen and towels with free wifi throughout (although many parts of Cornwall had terrible reception)
The beds were very comfortable.

Room 6 and 7 have sea views(wink wink)

The beach is a picturesque 5 minute walk away.

The breakfast was superb and again the hosts were very accommodating and friendly. I enjoyed our morning chats.

I have awarded 4 stars instead of 5 as the rooms were comfortable but a little 'compact'.

Aside from that it was all good.

To those who have posted bad reviews.....I don't understand. You get what you pay for and this place is definitely value for money.

See you again very soon Jan and 'daughter' :)

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank AuDrinaDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Beechwood with my fiancé. We come to Cornwall every year around the same time for his birthday and are getting married in ST Ives next year. Wanted somewhere this year which was closer to the town so this place ticked the boxes with location being 1.2 miles away (half hour walk or 5 minute bus, lovely scenic walk along beach road or footpath and bus stops well located!). Usually when I review places I have lots of good things to say and usually give a 4/5 star rating so the 3 is for the following.....starting with the
Good- location, friendly and pleasant owners and daughter (though only saw them once on arrival and the daughter at breakfast) breakfast was reasonable and good choice and room was comfy albeit small though suffice and as expected and explained. Cleaned daily and replenished towels and there was free WIFI which is always a bonus when there is very vast signal anywhere in Cornwall!
The not so good- parking is available on site but is limited so only room for 6 cars which is a tight squeeze so when you do get back don't expect to get back in or find a space. Though there was side streets nearby and a car park further down the road so not all bad. The decor is very dated and dull and could do with a serious update! The en-suite is cramped and no space to put anything, the shower pressure is awful and doesn't give you a proper wash more of a dribble! (This also needs updating even just paint and grouting nothing major though would significantly improve! Little things like torn carpets, missing light bulbs, tight squeeze with furniture in dining room, all furniture very basic and not the nicest, scuff marks, missing knobs etc. The garden needs maintaining as is overgrown and quite dangerous with bits of slate sticking out. The front of the building is not as shown on website either it looks a bit sad and like it needs a facelift to improve the aesthetic appearance. Overall we were really happy with our stay here, few little inexpensive improvements would make the world of difference. From a well travelled couple who frequently stay in 4 star hotels and even B&Bs and guesthouses this one in our opinion isn't worthy or up to scratch for the rating-at best it's an average 3 star! I hope Pete and Jan take things we and others I've noticed have made comment on as constructive criticism and make the changes to turn it into what could be a lovely little gem that it has the potential to be!

Stayed: August 2016
Thank LaurenShort88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I want to agree here with everything others have said about the family running the Beechwood. Just lovely and really helpful.
However, my room was just a bit in need of an update. Everything was clean and tidy, but the brown and cream was quite sad and some things just were not fitted well even if new. I like bright, airy rooms, so this is a personal thing, I hasten to add.
For less money this would have been completely acceptable but it seemed quite a lot for the standard.
Breakfast was nice and it had parking, was in a good position for access to the beach and St Ives, but a little bit of an upgrade with brighter rooms would be nice and not too much to do. They have the service side well sorted and I would recommend them, but it would not be for me again at the moment, sadly xx

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seashellseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The Carbis Bay area provides more sensibly priced accommodation in ~St. Ives, and Beechwood House was no exception. Although the room was exceedingly "compact", it was comfortable enough, quiet, with a good shower and quality linen. The breakfasts were excellent. No problem with returning here.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Couple very welcoming & helpful. Rooms good size & clean, one of the rooms downstairs quite damp. Good full english breakfast, suggest a better quality sausage. Portions excellent. Lady who served breakfast always chatty and interested in where you have been. Rooms cleaned every day. Very handy for bus into St Ives. Decor good but feels it needs a good sort out & deep clean. Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews