We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
35
21
11
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
21
11
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews places to visit carbis bay main st full english clean rooms ives town stayed nights lands end min walk guest house on arrival pete cornwall hosts
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Firstly the location is terrible. It's on a busy road a long walk from the beach and a longer walk to St Ives. There was road noise late into the night. The room was just OK with a very small bathroom. Staff were pleasant and the breakfast was OK. The price was good. The reason this place received poor rather than average was that my husband left his good jacket and shirt in the wardrobe, we emailed the day we left to request they send the left items to the hotel that we were booked at in London 6 days later...we received no response. We made it clear that we would cover the cost of postage. We did receive an email asking us for a positive review...but no response to our lost clothes. This was very disappointing and we have returned to Australia minus an expensive jacket and shirt. I hate to write a bad review but this was a very negative experience.

Room tip: A room at the back would have less road noise
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Maccyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely Mum and Daughter team. Very friendly and chatty and showed a genuine interest with what we had planned for our trip to St.Ives.
Yes, it is a bit of a trek to St.Ives town and beach, but the walk was pleasant and there's a train that goes between Carbis Bay Station and St.Ives which is only £1.
Down from where Beechwood House is situated (5-10) walk is Carbis Bay beach, which was near deserted with white(ish) sand.

As for the room we had, yes it was a bit small for the 2 of us (myself being 6'5) but it had everything we could of needed. Was nice and clean too.
And great selection for breakfast. Definitely recommend this place

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Stayed 2 nights 22-24August 17.
Firstly the we arrived at 12.30 pm and was welcomed by the lady with YOUR EARLY. Sorry put we only travelled from Plymouth and went to a few other places first. Anyway told her we would go out, arrived back at 10 pm thinking we might not get in. Male fella showed us to the room and asked what we wanted off the pre order breakfast, not much choice, Wife asked for a cheese omelette and he just looked at us as though we'd insulted his missus. So firstly not very friendly. About the room, well if you like living in a shoe box which requires updating you'll be fine. Bed very poor, shower was dirty, the whole room needs a good update, breakfast was ok 1hour time slot though. The car park is very small so anyone with a large vehicle will take up the space. B&B is about 30 minute walk to the centre, there is a station at the bottom of a steep road which is £1 single fare but be aware the time table changes a lot throughout the day so make sure you have one with you.
Overall the B&B was poor the poorest of the lot over the 10 days travelling around Cornwall but one of the dearest. I would not return to the hotel very over rated and after looking at some reviews don't get were they come from.
Find somewhere else
Don't know if it makes a difference but booked it through Booking . Com and you seem to get the smallest rooms.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights as our friends got married at nearby Carbis bay (which is beautiful) St ives is a 2-3 stop bus journey and takes no more than 10 minutes. St Ives is amazing. The bed and breakfast was excellent value, really comfy room and the Gent who runs things (sorry cant remember your name) was really really nice and informative. Breakfast was a 10/10 couldnt fault it. More or less next door is a convenience shop and there is a couple of pubs/restaurants within walking distance. Parking (like the area in general im told) is at a premium and a bit of a squeeze at the front. I will definatley stay here again if we are in the area and would recommend it. We also had our young daughter with us who they were great with

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank wolvesfc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We have been going to b&b's for many years and have to say this is one if the very best. We stayed for 3 nights and cannot really think of anything not completely perfect. The hosts Pete and Jan and the lovely helpful young lady who served our breakfast were all so helpful. . Nothing was too much trouble and we very much recommend Beechwood House. Beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was terrific even including fresh fruit salad . Pete even gave us a lift to the station as we had very heavy luggage and are not as young as we were!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidCWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews