I stayed here for the second year in a row. It is just as peaceful and beautiful as ever. I hope that someday I can come back in the winter for an extended stay to watch storms, clouds, tides from the recliner in the bay window.More
I stayed here for the second year in a row. It is just as peaceful and beautiful as ever. I hope that someday I can come back in the winter for an extended stay to watch storms, clouds, tides from the recliner in the bay window.MoreShow less
Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review - and of course we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our flat in St Ives again.
I have noted your remarks about the knives and I will get Neil to sharpen them - we do this from time to time but obviously we haven't done them recently so we'll ensure that it is done.
And noted about frying pan...some things in the flat are generally feeling their age after 7 years and this last winter we did re-cecorate and replaced some of the items but we'll have to update some of the pots & pans this winter I think.
Thanks again for the feedback as it's so very helpful - we appreciate honest remarks because we can easily forget to check certain things and as we are not there cleaning this summer we won't be able to stay on top of things quite so easily. We aim to keep Andy's Place as clean and fresh as ever.
We hope you do decide to come back again some time...the winter is lovely and the storms out to sea can be quite dramatic!
All the best,
Clare & Neil
This is the second time we've visited 'Andy's Place' and both times we have been blown away by the great location and great harbour views. The flat is lovely and clean and nothing is too much for Clare and Neil to ensure your stay is fantastic! No doubt we will be back again!!
Many thanks for taking the time to review our flat, and we're so pleased that you had such a good time in St Ives, and that you like Andy's Place so much. We hope you visit St Ives again, and we would warmly welcome you back to our flat!
Clare & Neil.
Having decided to take a last minute weekend break in Cornwall, we were delighted to find Andy's Place was available. The flat itself is fantastic. All mod cons and very comfortable. Travelling with a small child makes it difficult to go out in the evening, so it was a great relief to have such a lovely place to retire to in the evening after busy days on the many beautiful beaches nearby. St Ives is a gorgeous town and the flat is positioned just up on the hill with a breathtaking view out over the bay and on to the Atlantic. Can't wait to come again!
I wanted to come to St. Ives to combine a holiday with family history research, and was drawn to Andy's Place because of the view. I wasn't disappointed... I could sit in the bay window and watch the gulls circle endlessly, watch the tide fill up and empty the harbor, watch fishing boats come and go. It was so peaceful, so magical. If I wanted to "go to town", all I had to do was walk down the steps to the heart of the tourist buzz.
Although I have to admit that coming back up those steps was not as easy, I did find the #10 bus from Royal Square, which runs until about 6 pm, and whose lovely drivers will drop you by the flat. The 1 pound fare is quite worth avoiding that climb!
Was there anything I didn't like (besides leaving)? Not really. The kitchen equipment is fine (pots, pans, spatulas, knives, utensils, etc.). There is coffee, tea, sugar and salt provided, but anything else you'll have to buy yourselves. (But the Co-op convenience store is just at the foot of those steps, and right by the bus stop to get back up.)
The owners have a little binder that gives you all the information you need about the flat and town, and a separate little book on restaurant recommendations.
The bed is a bit low (maybe 12 inches off the floor), but very comfortable. I would happily book this again (and in fact, am thinking of doing so next spring....)
Beautiful views. Very conveniently located. Coop grocery, jazz club, music pub just five minutes away.
Drawbacks: kids jumping around upstairs can be annoying; the Wifi didn't work for me, had to subscribe to BT; the bath and washbasin taps are badly designed making them difficult to turn off with wet, slippery hands; the door keys and the key safe were tricky to use.
Many thanks for taking the time to review of our flat - we're glad you had a good time in St Ives and hope that if you ever visit again you would come back to Andy's Place. We hope the rest of your holiday in the UK was enjoyable.
We would just like to respond regarding the wi-fi problems: - We appreciate you had difficulties and are very sorry about this, and understood that the issue was to do with the actual netwotk key that you had to type in having a dash within it. You were unable to key it in from your Japanese keyboard. We did look into this for you, but as far as we were told all UK network keys have a dash in them separating the password. We're very sorry that this meant you were unable to get on line.
We would also like to inform any future guests reading your review that we did offer to reimburse you the fee you paid to BT for the subscription.
We also must point out that, in general, the wi-fi connection in that part of St Ives is not the strongest, but this is something completely out of our control. We look forward to receiving Superfast broadband when it finally reaches us - hopefully in 2014 as we are informed by BT!
Thanks again for your review and it was a pleasure having you at our flat.
All the best, Clare & Neil.