We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ”
Review of The Idle Rocks

The Idle Rocks
Reserve with OpenTable
The Idle Rocks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$87
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Idle Rocks has the most enviable location in St Mawes, overlooking the harbour with views across the River Fal to Falmouth. After a long day lazing on the beach, our south facing terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a long drink, and watch the world go by. You may even see your dinner being landed on the harbourside.The Idle Rock’s restaurant, run by our head chef, Guy Owen, is a celebration of Cornwall; showcasing a range of fabulous produce that has been sourced locally using only seasonal fresh ingredients. In many cases it will have been swimming right on our doorstep only a few hours earlier and while the food is of the very highest standard our setting is very relaxed.
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

My mother's 80th birthday lunch. She expected just 4 of us to meet her here, where she and my father were staying. With the excellent efforts of Paul, Heather, Emily and Sid she was completely surprised when 12 of us turned up to celebrate with her. We were greeted with Cornish fizz, followed by a simply delicious fishy lunch. Oysters, mackerel, crab and sea trout all featured and were devoured! Lovely wines too. Just as the coffee came the sun came out and we enjoyed sitting out on the terrace watching the boats.
The staff were, without exception lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and they played their roles in the deception with good humour. Thank you for a memorable day!

Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Dear Hannah,

Thank you for your recent review following your visit for your mother's 80th birthday lunch. I'm really pleased you all has a wonderful time and that we were able to look after you so well and help to create a memorable surprise for her special day.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Best wishes
Paul Goodwin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

We had a delightful lunch on the terrace in the sunshine on our first day and dinner later in the week. The staff were a bit "dippy" on arrival regarding who needing attention first as guests arrived but the food was wonderful as was the stunning view. The tables are not too close together and wherever you sit you get fab views of the sea.
We did not stay here but had a cottage in the village.

Thank Lylais3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Lylais3,

Thank you for your review following your visits for lunch and dinner. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed both visits and do hope you will join us again in the future.

Kind regards
Paul Goodwin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Experienced a walk-in dinner. Great location overlooking the sea. Sunshine and the waves lapping gently.

Service was very fragmented, some instances delivered with a warm smile - other examples were late, and not in communication. Must have had 4 different people serve our table, when they were clearly not communicating together.

Menu choices are exciting - and the food looks amazing. Sauces need work in the seasoning - some overdone, while others quite bland.

Overall, a great location - but a little overpriced for its service and food quality.

Thank EnginesRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear EnginesRob

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit for dinner, we appreciate you sharing it with us. I will also be discussing the feedback with my team in our next meeting to see how we can improve things for future guests.

We do hope you will consider visiting us again.
Kind regards
Paul Goodwin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel and restaurant. Very bijou decoration with white washed wood. Overlooks St Mawes harbour. Drinks on the terrace filled by scallops, oysters, cote de Boeuf and cholla the marquise. Camel valley Bacchus was delightful. Service could have been better but overall a lovely evening

Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Andy,

Thank you for your review following your visit for dinner, it is wonderful to hear your feedback. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your meal and drinks on the terrace.

I am sorry to hear that you thought the service could have been better and will be discussion this with my team in our next meeting. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Paul Goodwin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Oh my what a lovely restaurant and venue. Very pleasant staff and ambience. All dining tables have a lovely view of St Mawes harbour as does the lounge. Excellent quality ingredients. Generous portions. Veg and side orders served separately. First visit for a meal, but will definitely come again

Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Lynda,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your visit for Sunday lunch. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed everything and I look foreard to welcoming yu back again in the future.

Kind regards
Paul Goodwin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Idle Rocks also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Idle Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing