We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of One Fern Cottages

One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range
Kitchen
Cottage Kitchen
Kitchen- Oven & Hob
Beamed & Vaulted Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom- dressing area with views
Second bedroom
Dining Room- wooden floors and beams
Dining Room, with Stable door
The spacious dinning room
Bathroom
Bathroom- monsoon shower and bath
Downstairs toilet
Patio seated area
Second patio seated area
Parking space
Nearby Cartmel....a great place for a day trip
A Tarn near Coniston
A Lakeland Beck at Grasmere
Cartmel Racecourse- less than 3 miles away
The waterfall/beck running through Lindale
Victorian Range and log burning stove.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
a1amf
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed in this gorgeous cottage for 3 days and loved everything about it. It was well equipped with everything that you could possible need and more. It was spotless in every square inch not a single speck of dust anywhere. We loved it so much we didn't want to go out in the evening, so we made some beautiful food and snuggled up on the sofa. The cottage is in a great location for exploring the area and has lots of interesting places to visit locally with some lovely walks. I would highly recommend staying here you will absolutely love it, it's so quaint but also a real home from home with everything you need at your fingertips xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2014
We are thrilled you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandmaje...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at One Fern Cottages. I went with my husband and another couple who are great friends of ours. We all must say what a delight it was to stay in this beautiful property which is quiet and extremely well equipped. The owners have gone to so much trouble to make your stay as comfortable as possible providing everything you would need. We all like to play board games and spent the evenings doing this along with a glass of wine or two in the spacious dining room.
We ate in on two occasions but one evening we had a lovely meal at The Royal Oak just up the road. The pub is nicely decorated and had a good atmosphere. The waitress was very pleasant and the food was scrumptious. Try the Game sausage or the Steak & Ale pie with vegetables included all to be recommended.
One morning we caught the train from the station in Grange Over Sands to Arnside which only took 6 minutes and had a pleasant walk. It was very quiet being mid week but we all enjoyed the fresh air and exercise.
Lindale is a quaint village and the cottage is set in a superb location. We would very much like a return visit to this home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire and the facilities provided.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back to the Cottage sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcek
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was the perfect setting for our Holiday. It is kept so clean and updated with wonderful modern touches. The location was wonderful and centrally located for seeing much of the Lake District. The kitchen is stocked with anything you'd need if planning to cook at the cottage. I would for sure book there again if ever going through the Lake District again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathtub, hands down.
Liked least: The full mattress was very soft, but would be to other people's satisfaction I am sure.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review and are pleased that you had a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YanS715
1 review
“Excellent quirky cottage full of character”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage is lovely abd the service, cleanliness and facilities offered was outstanding.

My 3 young kids all under 5 loved it. The bed room set up was great couldnt ask for more.

Set in a quite village but lots of things to do in the surrounding area.

I would strongly recommend this place to anyone thinking of going to the lakes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that both you and the children enjoyed your stay. Happy children always make for a happy holiday!!

We do hope you will return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9Gabby
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet, quaint retreat.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The whole experience at One Fern Cottages was excellent. It has plenty of character and offered everything we needed in terms of comfort. It seems that all needs have been anticipated and taken into account in terms of the facilities provided. The cottage is very clean and well-equipped. Inside, it was very cool and offered a welcome respite from the high temperatures outside. The location is peaceful and the locals are very friendly. The cottage is well situated: close to local amenities in nearby Grange-Over-Sands and a comfortable drive to the Lakes or the coast. The owners maintained excellent communication throughout. A small plumbing problem which occurred during our stay was rectified in under 24 hours and caused little inconvenience. I'd gladly recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent facilities; cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are pleased your stay was enjoyable. We try to ensure that the cottage is equipped as a home from home and that the whole experience is one that we would expect if we were booking a holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing