We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but nothing special ”
Review of Harbour Restaurant

Harbour Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Clovelly
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I had a pub meal in the bar here. (Management keep responding to TripAdvisor posts saying "This is the restaurant page", but there seems to be only one page.)
It was the Crab and Lobster Festival, which was unfortunate, because it meant there were unremitting sea shanties for an hour.
Although others were finding the service slow, my food came quickly enough - cod, chips and peas - and it was averagely good. Ditto for the sticky toffee pudding and butterscotch sauce I had after.

Thank Zenk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for leaving feedback - The Crab & Lobster Festival is one of our busiest times so it is probably best to avoid it if you dont like the sea shanties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days, harbour restaurant served a good menu with quite a few fish dishes.
Quick service, beautiful views out to the harbour. Helpful and polite staff.

Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice positive review for us - I will pass your comments on to the other members of staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

After by passing a couple of coffee shops and a pub on a very steep downhill path through the beautiful village of Clovely we arrived at The Harbour Restaurant. If it had not been for the fact that we had a toddler and heavily pregnant woman in our group, and we were all starving, we would have left straight away to go back up the hill to one of the other eating places. We cleared a table in order to sit together and to try to deter the flies that were all through the restaurant and very unpleasant. Our food, despite there only being 2 hot meals out of the 7 ordered took over 45 minutes to arrive. 2 of the meals ordered were ploughmans one of which was cheese and had to be returned as the cheese was a thin slice of cheddar that was sweaty and floppy! The very embarrassed waiter returned with a better plate of food, but it still left a lot to be desired and at £11+ was very disappointing. The prawn cocktails were watery and tasteless and the rest of the food was of a similar poor standard. The tables around us remained dirty and uncleared throughout our meal which meant we were constantly battling with flies. We paid the bill and walked past three members of staff as we left and were not acknowledged by any of them. It was a very disappointing and unpleasant experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank joggy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit - your comments have been passed on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately (due to it's absolutely beautiful surroundings and village), was full of flies everywhere, all over the food, felt more like a swamp than a restaurant. Plus slower than slow service - with it taking over half an hour for a jacket potato, sandwich, egg and chips and soup and very overpriced.

Will definitely visit the village again, but never again for this particular establishment!

Thank OLangford3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

well earned beer after walking great houses and beautiful views very busy you need walking boots or sturdy shoes

Thank dianajohn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks for leaving a review glad that you enjoyed your beer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harbour Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing