We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Browns Steps , Dartmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CarolandK...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful accommodation”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We enjoyed a lovely few days bed and breakfast at Ingrid's beautiful house. We were welcomed on arrival with a plate of Ingrid's lovely home made apple cake, and plentiful supplies of coffee and tea, along with a bottle of milk in the fridge.
The barn itself is really special, charming with thick stone walls painted white, and with a sitting room and useful kitchenette. The spacious upstairs bedroom, with en suite modern shower room, is well appointed with comfortable twin beds.
We especially appreciated all of the local maps and guide books. Outside the barn are steps up to a deck, a real sun trap with lovely views over the lovely garden...and a nice place to enjoy a glass or two of wine!
Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order, with a varied choice of local produce, the eggs, bacon and sausages being from a nearby farm. There was also a selection of Ingrid's delicious home made fruit compotes, cereals, yogurts, nuts, seeds, and local jams and honey, along with tasty organic breads.
We chose this property for its great location, and it did not disappoint. Roxburgh House is situated close to the beautiful SW coastal path, and it's just a short walk down to Slapton Sands.
We were blessed with perfect weather and took full advantage of walking the coastal path to Dartmouth in one direction, and to Torcross, Beesands and Start Point in the other direction.
Ingrid was so helpful with her wealth of local knowledge and recommendations for walks, eating places, and tourist attractions.
Best of all, our two border collies were made very welcome in this dog friendly accommodation.
We will be back! Thoroughly recommended.....

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect bed and breakfast!! Ingrid made us so welcome and really put herself out for us. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious with home made preserves and products locally sourced. We stayed in the barn, which was lovely - clean, comfortable and with everything we could possibly need - and then in the morning we walked through the pretty walled garden to breakfast in the house. The location is fantastic, close to the coastal path, Slapton Sands and Dartmouth - you would be hard put to find a more beautiful part of the country. We definitely intend to return next year.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJup
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately Recommend”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A great property in a perfect location. Ingrid was a great host with attention to detail that made our stay a treat. Made to feel comfortable and very welcome, especially as a same-sex couple. Great breakfast with all fresh ingredients and local produce.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea W
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a delightful find! Stayed in the barn with a wonderful breakfast in the house. Ingrid the owner made us so welcome and suggested many walks around the area. So handy for the beach and coastal paths. We will definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky W
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will return”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What an amazing find!
This is perfect for walking the coastal path or exploring this beautiful part of Devon.
Ingrid serves a lovely breakfast with local products and home made marmalade,we could not have asked for more. Ingrid is very knowledgeable and helpful. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable with a fantastic garden.
We are already planning our return.

Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing