We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
208
104
23
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
104
23
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapasgreen roomparking permitchose brownsboutique hotellovely hotellocal car parkfresh milklovely touchwine liststayed one nighttea and coffeebreakfast was deliciousvery pleasant stayscallopstwo nightspowerful shower
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

We have been to Browns before for our anniversary and when thinking about where to go this year we chose to come back instead of going abroad. The top floor suite is the most luxurious thing I can imagine, it’s quiet, spacious and full of perfect little touches like nice toiletries and a freestanding bath. It really feels like being looked after in a top quality boutique hotel but with friendly, warm and welcoming staff. I hope we’ll still be coming back here for many anniversaries in the future.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownsDartmouth, Owner at Browns Hotel Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Hi there,
So very glad you had a lovely stay with us at Browns and congratulations once again on your anniversary! Thanks so much for the kind words. It`s always lovely to hear that people like what we do here at Browns and from all the team, Susan my wife and of course my good self Mike, here`s to wishing you a lovely Christmas and New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Lovely welcome, lovely staff, great location - 'help yourself to a drink when you get back tonight' most welcome and appreciated' ........... simply not the boutique hotel we were expecting and, as such felt it was overpriced at £115.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ianandjane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Six of us stayed for three nights and another two joins us fo the last night at this Gem of Dartmouth. We had visited Browns a few years back for a lunchtime oysters, olives and bubbly, vowing to return one day and stay. How glad we are that we did. Our birthday boy (father/inlaws) 80th surprise break. They stayed in the suite which they loved. Other rooms we had were the Green, comfort and classic. All were lovely well equipped, modern clean and comfortable. The new owner was there to meet and welcome us and made our stay very special. The whole staff in particular Ainsley could not do enough for us all and are a credit to Browns reputation. We will return and thank the team for their excellent hospitality.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank deborah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownsDartmouth, Owner at Browns Hotel Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you so much for a lovely review, it means a lot to us and all the staff here. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Dartmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Stayed in the stylish boutique Browns Hotel in Dartmouth for a short break and had a loverly stay, despite the weather not being the best! Browns is under new management and they are off to a flying start in what must be one on the friendliest towns in Devon. We stayed in the large & very comfortable Green Room, the team at Browns made us feel very welcome. Parking is nearby with a permit from the hotel, breakfast is marvellous and there was wine left out for guests in the bar when returning in the evening!

Room Tip: Green Room
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownsDartmouth, Owner at Browns Hotel Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for a charming review, I am sorry to have taken a while to respond .. a busy life, we are loving it and hearing from happy guests makes it even better.

Susan & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night. The one member of staff was lovely and v v helpful. The room and ensuite were very pleasant, the shower was great. There was a confusion with our booking - booking.com fault not hotel but hotel sorted it. Good breakfast. Great base in Dartmouth. Only thing that could have been better was size of cups in room. I'd rather a mug but not a big deal

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melbobjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownsDartmouth, Owner at Browns Hotel Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the review. We are having a think about the room cups, bigger ones or mugs ... what a good idea!

Mike and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews