We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful setting short distance from Exeter”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
EileenOw
France
1 review
“Peaceful setting short distance from Exeter”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A perfect location on the outskirts of a pretty village with a historic church. Ideal facilities for two - a bright & comfortable room with kitchen area and outdoor table and chairs for al fresco dining in complete privacy. Great shower too and parking right outside. Niki provided a warm welcome (including a delicious lemon cake) and even a taxi service into Exeter one evening, which we really appreciated. The 8 mile drive into Exeter is straightforward and not too busy and the village pub is a short stroll way. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful, private location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie A
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All is said in the description!! Definitely a piece of Devon tranquillity.”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I have just spent a fabulous week in 'The Batch'. The setting is glorious, our host was incredibly welcoming and we felt relaxed immediately on our arrival. If you want to escape the rat race for a while or use it as we did as a base to travel Devon it is ideal. The Batch is perfect with all that is necessary for a get away, extremely well presented and equipped with all one needs for that break away. Sitting on the terrace watching the rabbits, sheep and wildlife reading a book or just chilling out with a glass of wine listening to absolutely nothing but the birds! Sheer joy and contentment. I can't recommend this place enough!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The piece and tranquillity.
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like other than leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Laurie and Lynne thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a really special spot. I'm so glad the weather was kind too. We'd love to welcome you again. Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenton69
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to stay for two, and only minutes from Exeter!”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Booked The Batch last minute for a couple of days away without the kids! Spent the first day shopping in Exeter, and after 10-15 minutes drive we arrived at our accommodation, which is a world away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We were met by Niki the owner and her dog, and were left to settle in. Our studio was clean, light bright and modern, with french doors that open onto the vast gardens. There was tea, coffee, fresh milk and some lovely biscuits left for us too! Lovely!
A perfect place for a quick get away, and only minutes from Exeter and beyond!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dturner8
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I recently stayed at the Batch during the middle of April and we just loved it and can't recommend it highly enough! It's the ideal spot for some peace and quiet and only a short drive to Exeter. The host made us feel right at home the moment we arrived and the walnut cake was delicious. Fantastic spot for some long tranquil walks around the beautiful countryside. Place was modern, comfy and spotless inside with all the amenities you could need. In hindsight, the only we would change is to have stayed longer.:-) Thanks again for a memorable stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
Dorian and Sharon thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and glad you enjoyed The Batch. I hope the good weather continues and you have a few more wonderful weeks in the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart_Aw...
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Fantastic Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

First time booking holiday through TripAdvisor and not let down. Lovely airy, roomy studio 10 miles from Exeter but on the edge of a quiet secluded village. Tastefully decorated and fully equipped with kitchen and large shower room. Hosts very attentive and I would definitely go for the optional continental breakfast which will set you up for whatever you are doing!! Regular visitors visiting son at University what a fabulous contrast from the Holiday Inn Express!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality studio, homely comforts (cookies were great)
Liked least: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing