We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rising Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sinai House(Lynton)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
319
131
39
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
131
39
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrising sunthe puboysterscrabthatched rooflow ceilingssea viewbar menugreat atmosphererestaurant was fully bookedexmoor goldclub sandwichsmall harbourweekend breaksitting roomthe cliffhome made
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere was perfect and food was very tasty, the place is also dog friendly and had no issues bringing the dog in and out of the hotel regardless of time. Would highly recommend staying here for a nice get away as a couple, there are plenty of local amenities, walking routes (some are a short drive in the car) and other small towns in the surrounding areas to visit. The valley of rocks is also well worth a visit there are some stunning views and the walk isn't too strenuous.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christianonwochei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. Dogs are very welcome we just ask they are kept on leads. We do agree there are some fantastic walks to do around the Lynton & Lynmouth area and a visit to the valley of rocks is a must, the scenery is stunning.We thank you very much for recommending us as a place to stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Rising Sun next time you are visiting this beautiful part of North Devon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We only stayed here one night, but it was just what we were looking for. A hotel packed with history and charm. Beautifully furnished bedrooms with modern bathrooms. All this, set bang on the harbourside - what a wonderful view to wake up to. Lynmouth is small, so all amenities (rivers, shops, other restaurants, museum, funicular railway) are within easy walking distance. The staff were charming and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. We also booked for dinner, which was very nice, served in a cosy dining room with attentive waiting staff. There is also a nice bar area, which, I believe, also served food. Prior to arriving, I asked about the parking situation and was given excellent advice. Obviously the end of October isn't high season, but we had no problem parking on the road outside the hotel. If you are coming when it is busier, ask the person you book with for pointers. We loved our stay in Lynmouth and if we return, we will be booking into the Rising Sun.

Room Tip: This is a very old building, so ask about accessibiltiy when you book a room
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquidFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We are very proud of our beautiful old building, so its always nice when others agree, nestled into the hillside we have both coastal and country side views on our doorstep, whilst being in a village. The lovely comments made about the food and service have been passed on and were very much appreciated, as you say we don't have our own parking, there is a pay and display car park each end of the village and during the season you can park opposite the hotel without any restrictions from 6pm to noon the next day.We thank you very much for your review and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed here for one night in November and were very taken with this traditional pub/hotel on the harbourside in Lynmouth. The hotel is very old with thatched roof and wooden beams and a comfy bar and restaurant with a nice informal feel. Our bedroom and bathroom were nicely appointed and to a high standard. The room was a decent size - not huge but very acceptable given the age of the place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us immediately feel at home. We ate in the restaurant and were very impressed with the food. Good quality ingredients and superbly presented. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank steve0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and liked the room allocated to you, your lovely comments about the food and staff have been passed. Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Wow, what a beautiful little cottage in such a fantastic location. Just to the side of the pub up a VERY steep slope (too steep to walk down in heels) gave it an almost secluded feeling. There were views of the sea but they were quite limited however the views up stream of the the river flowing down to the sea were spectacular.

The food in the evening was delicious. We mixed the bar menu with the restaurant menu and this was no trouble at all. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The chap behind the bar was very nice and chatty, and was able to fill us in on some local issues and news.

I would highly recommend this place for anything from a pint to a stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ceri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay in Shelley's Cottage and liked the views it had to offer. The comments made about the food and staff have all been passed on and were very much appreciated by all, we thank you very much for your review and for recommending us as a place to visit.We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful night away. Beautiful town and lovely pub, full of old world charm. The rooms are renovated to a very high standard. We had a lovely slipper bath and views of the sea. Dinner was excellent, as was breakfast, though we preferred the bar menu to the restaurant menu, but that’s just personal taste. Would definitely go again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

We were so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us , with great comments made about your room, the food and staff all of which have been passed on. A review like yours is always a pleasure to receive, thank you.We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rising Sun next time you are visiting this lovely part of North Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews