We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillside House(Lynmouth)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Village Inn(Lynmouth)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
330
132
40
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
132
40
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrising suncrabthe puboystersthatched rooflow ceilingsbar menusea viewrestaurant was fully bookedexmoor goldgreat atmosphereharbour sideclub sandwichcharming hotelsitting roomweekend breaksea front
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful evening here, the food was excellent, excellent service and there was a lovely atmosphere. We can't recommend The Rising Sun enough. Thank you for a great evening. We will be back very soon.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Well it seems we ticked all the boxes to make your evening a memorable one, your fantastic comments have been passed on to the rest of the staff and were very much appreciated. We thank you very much for your review and we look forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night break in this gorgeous quayside pub/hotel. Buzzing, even on a chilly November evening, with a good mix of locals and 'out of towners' alike.

Our room (5), though quite small, was absolutely charming, and had a lovely view over the harbour. Bathroom was again small (shower/no bath) but had plenty of everything one might need for a weekend stay, with plentiful hot water in the shower. Mind your head as you negotiate the stairs/hallway to the rooms, this is a very old building, built for little people like me, not my 6ft 3" tall husband !

What really makes this place stand out from the rest is the incredible seafood they offer on their bar menu. We ate oysters, whitebait, calamari, fish and chips, and the most amazing roasted shellfish platter.....not all in one evening I hasten to add ! As a pescatarian, this menu was a dream for me, I was so spoilt for choice. It's a shame we only stayed 2 nights, I could happily have eaten my way through almost the whole menu ! There is also plenty of choice for those of you who aren't quite so enamoured by the spoils of the sea ! Our compliments to the chef and kitchen staff.

Great breakfasts too, 'Full English', smoked haddock, choice of eggs etc, with a 'family sized' portion of smoked salmon for me one morning....delicious !

And finally the staff, from the excellent barman (Tim ?), all the girls at breakfast and in the evening, to the lovely Helen in Reception, whose service was exemplary. You guys are a shining example of how an establishment like this should be run.

I so hope we get the chance to visit again soon, and would absolutely recommend it for it's excellent position in lovely Lynmouth and it's excellent service.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBird69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Our Chefs work hard on their menus, they cook to order using fresh food and where possible locally sourced produced and this is reflected in the quality of the food that we serve, your comments about your chosen dishes have been passed on to them, and they were very much appreciated. We do agree room 5 has lovely views of the harbour and surrounding countryside.We thank you very much for such a great review and for recommending us as a place to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rising Sun in the future to enjoy some more of our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere was perfect and food was very tasty, the place is also dog friendly and had no issues bringing the dog in and out of the hotel regardless of time. Would highly recommend staying here for a nice get away as a couple, there are plenty of local amenities, walking routes (some are a short drive in the car) and other small towns in the surrounding areas to visit. The valley of rocks is also well worth a visit there are some stunning views and the walk isn't too strenuous.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christianonwochei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. Dogs are very welcome we just ask they are kept on leads. We do agree there are some fantastic walks to do around the Lynton & Lynmouth area and a visit to the valley of rocks is a must, the scenery is stunning.We thank you very much for recommending us as a place to stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Rising Sun next time you are visiting this beautiful part of North Devon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We only stayed here one night, but it was just what we were looking for. A hotel packed with history and charm. Beautifully furnished bedrooms with modern bathrooms. All this, set bang on the harbourside - what a wonderful view to wake up to. Lynmouth is small, so all amenities (rivers, shops, other restaurants, museum, funicular railway) are within easy walking distance. The staff were charming and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. We also booked for dinner, which was very nice, served in a cosy dining room with attentive waiting staff. There is also a nice bar area, which, I believe, also served food. Prior to arriving, I asked about the parking situation and was given excellent advice. Obviously the end of October isn't high season, but we had no problem parking on the road outside the hotel. If you are coming when it is busier, ask the person you book with for pointers. We loved our stay in Lynmouth and if we return, we will be booking into the Rising Sun.

Room Tip: This is a very old building, so ask about accessibiltiy when you book a room
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquidFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We are very proud of our beautiful old building, so its always nice when others agree, nestled into the hillside we have both coastal and country side views on our doorstep, whilst being in a village. The lovely comments made about the food and service have been passed on and were very much appreciated, as you say we don't have our own parking, there is a pay and display car park each end of the village and during the season you can park opposite the hotel without any restrictions from 6pm to noon the next day.We thank you very much for your review and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed here for one night in November and were very taken with this traditional pub/hotel on the harbourside in Lynmouth. The hotel is very old with thatched roof and wooden beams and a comfy bar and restaurant with a nice informal feel. Our bedroom and bathroom were nicely appointed and to a high standard. The room was a decent size - not huge but very acceptable given the age of the place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us immediately feel at home. We ate in the restaurant and were very impressed with the food. Good quality ingredients and superbly presented. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank steve0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and liked the room allocated to you, your lovely comments about the food and staff have been passed. Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews