We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time machine back to 1964”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed 29 April 2016

In this part of the world, its all about the landscapes and coastline. There are very few, if any, 4 & 5 star type hotels you get in other parts of the country.

However, if you can imagine and can accept how a traditional family holiday may have been in the 1960's then this place gives you a very good representation. Think Fawlty Towers without Basil in a nicer location :)

The hotel is situated high up on a cliff side.

The dinner/ breakfast room is large, traditional and has a wonderful panoramic view of the bay- this is the hotels best internal feature. We found breakfast and dinner to be of good quality.

The general decor reminds me of walking around a dimly lit, interesting little antiques shop and the bedrooms rooms standard fare for this part of the world.

You have a great meandering path down from the hotel to the village which is good fun with the children. You have numerous walks- the most beautiful being the one to Watersmeet House which is quite something and takes an hour each way.

The village is really traditional- lovely pasties, a golf putting green, tennis courts, the beach, all the little shops, the pub - it really feels like you have been transported back in time- in a good way.

In many ways, that's what makes the hotel and the location special- its a time machine

There are lots of beautiful places to visit and you can take the dog!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Porchetta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2015

The hotel lived up to expectations with it's quirky statues both inside and out. We had a double room but could only see the sea by leaning out of the window and craning our head around. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very helpful. The restaurant was well run although our waiter had a little trouble understanding us, they were happy to meet all our requirements. The food was well cooked although the menu was not really varied enough for us if we had been stopping any longer than the two nights especially as my partner eats only fish or poultry. The bar staff were great and we had a lot of fun whilst stopping here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and double check before confirming your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loopylou2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times. It is worth the journey to get there from my home town. It is the quirkiest hotel I have ever stayed in.The rooms are comfortable. The whole hotel is filled with objects from around the world. The owners were antique dealers. There are several private areas for you to sit and dine in. Different colours. There must be thousands of books,even in the loo?
However the dining room is modern and the food is superb. Can't fault it. And good value. The service is excellent and very family oriented. Always the same staff when we stay there.
Would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesleyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Room was a good size, as was the bed and very comfy. Had a view of the bay. We were just above the reception / restaurant area but no noise. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Some unique furnishings throughout the hotel making it a unique experience.
There is a decent sized boarded patio area for eating light meals or enjoying a cocktail or two which over looks the bay from a great vantage point.
Meal in the evening was spot on - had pork which was very tender and tasty.
The only down side when we were there is that there was some building work - not noisy but to get to the main entrance you had to walk a bit of a way and up a number of steps which could be a problem for people with mobility issues, although I'm sure that the staff would fetch bags to your room if needed.
Getting into the town area is via a steep hill so if your not very fit then you may need to drive there. But I'd be happy just to sit there and enjoy the view - I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014

The Tors Hotel, Lynmouth is superbly located, with wonderful views over the sea, Lynmouth and the hills. The staff are excellent and ensure you have a good stay. We had a sea facing room and were very pleased. The sun terrace was a great place to have a drink and enjoy the view. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Unfortunately we stayed at a weekend and the restaurant is closed on a Sunday evening so had to make alternate plans to eat. We walked through the winding woodland path down into Lynnouth, as the road way is too dangerous with no pavement. Just wish there had been a hand rail at the bottom bit as its quite steep!. We found a wonderful fish and chip shop and enjoyed eating overlooking the harbour. Many of the other little cafes and restaurants had closed by 6pm. Overall we had a great stay, and enjoyed the Sunday afternoon band playing on the sun terrace, and the "quirkiness" if the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing, makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pegyate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.4 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0.4 km away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
323 reviews
0.5 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
0.6 km away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: RM 438 - RM 1,367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing