We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lorna Doone House
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orchard House(Lynmouth)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Lyn House(Lynmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hillside House(Lynmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
163
18
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnothing is too much troublethe riverfour poster bedrooms are largea wonderful holidayfudgeshort strollrushing watereach morningwarm welcomepacked lunchfantastic hostsstunning locationselection of cerealspreserveswithin easy walking distancean evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Lorna Doone a few weeks ago which was the (perfect) finale to our 2 week tour of the South West. Sharon and Neil made us very welcome and were able to give us plenty of information for Lynmouth, local walks etc. Lynmouth is absolutely beautiful and there is loads to do in the area, particularly if you like walking (Valley of Rocks, Watersmeet, South West Coastal Path). The B&B itself is lovely, clean, extremely spacious, and we had a lovely river view from our room too. The breakfasts were amazing and I would definitely recommend booking a table for dinner. We wish we ate here on our first night after booking a table for our final night - the steak and ale pie was absolutely delicious and freshly made. Massive thanks from Paul, Karen and Alex for making this the perfect end to our holiday, we hope to be back sometime soon :)

Room Tip: Book a table for dinner before arrival, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank POPEYE12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Neil makes a great steak and ale pie and I always look forward to sampling it to make sure it is up to standard! So pleased you enjoyed our beautiful village and we hope we may have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Just returned from a wonderful week at Lorna Doone House. Hotel is ideally situated next to the river, with a short walk into Lynmouth in one direction and the route to Watersmeet in the other. Parking available in level car park next to the house. Room was spacious, warm and comfortable. Neil's breakfasts and dinners were delicious, with a good menu to choose from. Neil and Sharon are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Not our first stay at Lorna Doone and we've booked again for next September. Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applegatestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your break and that Neil's cooking was up to standard! We look forward to seeing you again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

As usual a wonderful friendly holiday, superb food and excellent service. Great for a walking experience as directly on the river so the Watersmeet walk is on your doorstep...The only noise you'll hear will be the rushing water from the river. Has a car park. Within easy walking distance of Lynmouth and the sea. Go up the cliff railway to get to Lynton. An experience in itself.

Room Tip: Be aware there is no lift or ground floor rooms. Book dinner day before as all food cooked to order.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wwcrft52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree it is certainly a beautiful and peaceful place. Glad you enjoyed the food and our company and hope we may see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1010
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We decided to come down to Exmoor for 2 days stayed at this lovely B&B. Nice clean rooms, very friendly, lovely breakfast and best of all is the location. It's lovely to fall asleep to the sound of the river. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We too enjoy the relaxing sound of the river and we are so pleased you enjoyed our beautiful home and location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights whilst down for a family wedding. Friendly and helpful hosts, clean room which had a good choice of amenities hot drinks/water/biscuits/toiletries and the bag of local fudge was a nice touch. Room was comfortable, lots of storage space and extra seating, small shower cubicle but shower was decent. Getting ready for the wedding wasn't the easiest due to the location of plug and mirror for drying my hair and the lighting not good for makeup but minor things. Breakfast was good with local produce and lots of choice if u wanted something different you can preorder. Short walk down to shops and pubs and parking available. No phone reception around the area so be aware and most places around shut quite early. My parents stayed in another B&B a couple of doors down called the Captains house so I saw their room also and Lorna Doone was way nicer in terms of room, breakfast and the hosts and they wished they had paid the little extra and stayed here. Nice place would recommend a stay if you are in the area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and you enjoyed the room and Neil's lovely breakfasts. We have noted your comments regarding getting ready and will relook at the room layout this winter when we do our annual spring clean, Thanks for the feedback on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews