We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Riverside Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Cottage
Ranked #8 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
4413
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

As a B and B this place is almost perfect!!! Almost!!!! The room is spacious, the breakfast is excellent! But single glazed windows with a wedding in a marquee over the road is not great!!!!! The owner is really bubbly and makes sure you are so looked after, but the noise from the wedding is just too much!!! Not the fault of the B and B a wedding, but if this is what happens then maybe some money into windows is needed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017

We have found the perfect B & B in Lynmouth but I shouldn't tell you all because I don't want it getting too popular.
Great room with a spectacular view and balcony.
Our big hairy dog was made very welcome and was allowed to eat with us for breakfast. It was a lovely day so we ate our breakfasts outside.
The landlady is extremely friendly and cooked up a perfect Full English.
There is no need to stay anywhere else in Lynmouth now !

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JLow42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We had a gift for two voucher and opted to stay here. After finding out we had to stay midweek we then found that the room allocated to the voucher deal was a small and basic room at the back. We were put in there despite 5 of the 6 river view rooms being unoccupied. That suggests they don't really care what people think of their place and aren't bothered about return trade or us telling friends. Also, voucher was allegedly valued around £99 despite room being advertised as costing £75, which is still too much for the room! We didn't get to see the river view rooms so can't comment on their state. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Make sure you get room at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Had a very warm welcome from Debbie and Dan, helpful and a good knowledge of the area, value for money, room clean and cleaned daily, good coffee, breakfast freshly cooked and plenty to choose from, and a great location.

Room Tip: Pick a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Golfmaddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We had a lovely spacious clean room with a great view and balcony overlooking the River Lyn and the sea, plenty of clothes space. Great breakfast, Debbie and Dan were freindly and welcoming. Would highly recommend and hope to return again.

Sue & Derek, Wallington

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a great view of the river and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanjohn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynmouth hotels
0.0 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
0.1 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
494 reviews
0.1 km away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
0.3 km away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
196 reviews
0.2 km away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottage

Address: 10 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: RM361 - RM461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been awarded the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence, and have achieved the highest rating from the Food Standards Agency. We have seven rooms, six with sea views and private balconies. Each balcony is complete with chairs and table to allow you to sit and watch the world go by. Our restaurant is open between 10.00am and 5.00pm serving excellent freshly-made food, locally sourced and prepared by our in-house chef. Riverside Cottage is a perfect base for walking, cycling, fishing (River Lyn, harbour, beach or boat), and riding, pony trekking or just as a centre for North Devon touring. Alternately just relax on your balcony with a drink and admire the views (selected rooms only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Cottage Hotel Lynmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing