We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend”
Review of Riverside Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Cottage
Ranked #8 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Our host seemed incredibly annoyed at us for checking out a little later than her 10am check out (we were in our car and gone by 11am!) - she banged and screamed at us through the door and then when paying the remaining balance accused us of stealing "her property" (a wooden key ring!!!!). Extremely strange and frankly unnecessary behaviour from what you would expect to be a professional service.

We paid £90 a night for two nights. The breakfast was nice but the shower was freezing. We did not appreciate such rude behaviour when checking out and unfortunately after reading other reviews it seems this is not the first time this attitude has been received.

For this reason I would not recommend this establishment and in hindsight maybe there was a reason this was the only available accommodation in Lynmouth over the weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EJHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie I, Owner at Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Well.....do I waste my time replying to this????? NO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

After yet another great day on the SWC Path, we were warmly welcomed by the host (who had seen us as we walked across the Lyn footbridge).

It is important to acknowledge that we had booked a room at the back of this establishment, so we were not expecting views of the sea.

The room was quite small and the architects had intelligently managed to add an en-suite into the smallest place.

The bed was small and I was forced to spend most of the night on the floor.

The breakfast did us up for the next day walk, but it did seem a bit rushed?

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie I, Owner at Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

For anyone reading this review the bed in this room is not small, it is a standard 4' 6" double bed so as far as sleeping on the floor is concerned, this was the choice of the guest not the fact that I have small beds.
As far as the breakfast is concerned these walkers were offered an earlier breakfast due to walking again the next day. I started breakfast at 7.30am for them and they have the nerve to write a review stating that their breakfast was rushed. You can't win can you!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Booked for husbands birthday. We had a double room with balcony. Lovely to sit and have a glass or two of wine at the end of the day looking out over the river. Room was very clean with lovely en-suite bathroom. Excellent breakfast with a bubbly greeting from the owner which makes a refreshing change! Thank you both for our lovely stay…we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Ann-Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4513
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

As a B and B this place is almost perfect!!! Almost!!!! The room is spacious, the breakfast is excellent! But single glazed windows with a wedding in a marquee over the road is not great!!!!! The owner is really bubbly and makes sure you are so looked after, but the noise from the wedding is just too much!!! Not the fault of the B and B a wedding, but if this is what happens then maybe some money into windows is needed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We have found the perfect B & B in Lynmouth but I shouldn't tell you all because I don't want it getting too popular.
Great room with a spectacular view and balcony.
Our big hairy dog was made very welcome and was allowed to eat with us for breakfast. It was a lovely day so we ate our breakfasts outside.
The landlady is extremely friendly and cooked up a perfect Full English.
There is no need to stay anywhere else in Lynmouth now !

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JLow42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0.1 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
496 reviews
0.1 km away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
146 reviews
0.3 km away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
196 reviews
2 km away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottage

Address: 10 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: RM400 - RM461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been awarded the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence, and have achieved the highest rating from the Food Standards Agency. We have seven rooms, six with sea views and private balconies. Each balcony is complete with chairs and table to allow you to sit and watch the world go by. Our restaurant is open between 10.00am and 5.00pm serving excellent freshly-made food, locally sourced and prepared by our in-house chef. Riverside Cottage is a perfect base for walking, cycling, fishing (River Lyn, harbour, beach or boat), and riding, pony trekking or just as a centre for North Devon touring. Alternately just relax on your balcony with a drink and admire the views (selected rooms only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Cottage Hotel Lynmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing