We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant location with a most interesting view...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
grandpare...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant location with a most interesting view over the harbour.”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great location, easy walk to Royal William Yard where beautiful old navy buildings have been re purposed as restaurants. Excellent outlook, bright & sunny 270 degree views from the living area. Basement secure parking, Clean and well laid out with most of what you might need for a great touring base with interesting enough outlook to stay put when the weather is bad.

The only criticism is that there is a slight tendency for the apartment to overheat in sunny weather.

We may well use the venue again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahbarn...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Modern Apartment, Great Location”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a great stay in this fantastic modern apartment. It has panoramic views, was spotlessly clean and equipped to a very high standard with everything you could need for your stay.

The handover was smooth and Carol who met us was very helpful.

One small niggle - the bedrooms were very warm and an extra fan would have been useful.

Milbay, the district where the apartment is situated, is a bit industrial around the edges but we enjoyed staying there. The views, especially at night when the ferry is coming and going are interesting. It is also quiet. Aldi is close by for food and the Hoe, Barbican and Royal William yard are all 10-15 minutes walk away.

If you want a high quality apartment is an interesting city location, I would recommend this apartment. We stayed with teenagers and it met our requirements but it would also be suitable for older travelers. I am not sure I would like to try to keep the cream carpet clean with very young children though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve_y_1...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The title says it all really, the panoramic view of Plymouth Sound is spectacular and ever changing with the coming and going of ships and the occasional ferries. Being able to see them all from the comfort of the property simply adds to the experience. Being met by Carol on arrival and the convenience of the underground car park was very welcoming after a long journey as were the flowers and biscuits. The property was spotlessly clean, comfortable and ready for our arrival and we felt settled immediately. Its well laid out with all the facilities you'd expect. It's a great base to take in the best of Plymouth and in a great position to explore the recently developed Prince William Yard, the amazing views from Devils Point and the Cremyll ferry over to Mount Edgcumbe,all without needing the car! Its also handy for the car ferry at Torpoint to take you into Cornwall. All in all a great location for the area and beyond! Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment but just lacks finishing touches”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Recently styaed at the Penthouse Phoenix Quay with my wife, brother and sister-in-law.
I will try to be honest about this apartment.
Overall the apartment is very good. It has a large open plan living room with a very large and comfortable leather sofa. A large flat screen TV, DVD player and SKY+ (With all channels) and free WiFi. The bedrooms are spacious and the bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. The view from the picture windows of Plymouth Sound is stunning once you look past the Brittany Ferry port just outside on the left. There is some building work going on just to the right but that isw not the owners fault. You get an allocated parking space in the gated underground garage which is right next to the lift. The location is pretty good as around 10-15 minutes walk either way will take you to the restauraunts at the Royal William Yard or to the Barbican and Quayside. I would recommend the Easter Eye Indian but beware as the dishes are hotter than you would normally expect.
There are a few downsides to the apartment though. It lacks some of the finishing touches you would expect from a luxury apartment. The cables for the TV to the DVD and SKY box are just dangling, the shower in the master bedroom is electric and either too hot or tepid as there is no other setting, also not very powerful so dissapaointing. There is no shower in the main bathroom so the other gusets had to use the one in our room.
The wierdest thing was that there is a radiator in the wardrobe in the master bedroom !!
The patio furniture on the balcony is rusty so did not sit out on this. The main livingroom also acts like a greenhouse so gets very hot with a little sun on it. The windoes however do slide wide open but you do get quite a breeze then. The blinds also blow about and drive you mad. The kitchen was adequate but the cooker hood does not work as there are no buttons on it. The fridge also had a strong smell of something (Onion like smell).
Also some of the cupboards were being used to store paint and spare bulbs etc. Also there were storage boxes laying around that i feel could have been put away somewhere.
Overall the apartment was a good standard however and we used it as a base to visit other villages such as Salcombe (Lovely), Tavistock, Looe and Polperro (Has an ice cream shop that makes the best ice cream i have ever tasted !). I would consider using the apartment again but feel there are probably better out there for the price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and lounge
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing