We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here straight away!”
Review of Grecian Taverna

Grecian Taverna
Ranked #121 of 735 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely gem of a place! We were recommended by another restaurant that was fully booked. We turned up and the owner kindly said we could have a table until 7:30. She actually let us keep it till 8:30! You could see it is hugely popular with locals with the amount of well known customers to the place. We’ve asked if they can open one in Salisbury! Going to have to come back to Plymouth just to go to this restaurant again! Also, probably the best sautéed potatoes I’ve ever had!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ellies787
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

Very disappointed. We went to celebrate a retirement and after not be able to visit Greece over the last 2 years. We thought it would be fitting to celebrate in the next best thing. As all 4 of us love the Greek food.
The food was good, however we were not informed that there would be a DJ playing random loud music from 8.30pm. Which was so loud my husband who also stuffs with tinnitus Had to put ear plugs in, whilst trying to eat our main meal. The noise levels with the restaurant was already loud due to the 2 large tables around us celebrating. One table with over 30 guests. We appreciate everyone wants to get together after everything COVID as thrown at us. But the music was just a step to far. We ended up leaving early and therefore not having dessert, coffees or after dinner drinks. Which cut our evening short. But the noise from the music was just to much. When I raise this point. I asked why was we not informed the large parties or music when you phoned to confirm the table the evening before. I was told it is on the website that we have this every Friday and Saturday evening. Which is not true there is nothing on the website to indicate this take place on Fridays and Saturday. If we had known we would have chosen to visit on a different evening so we could at least have a conversation over dinner with friends we have not seen for over 2 years. But our evening was ruined with the lack of communication. Which could have easily been avoided. We will not be returning anytime soon.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Brenda14122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

Wow what a find last night, food was 100% exceptional, Sara the Manger and staff went above and beyond to make us feel very welcome. There was free live music entertainment , which set the scene. We had the set menu , ( Monday to Thursday) @ £14.99 a huge amount of food so exceptional value for money. If you like Greek food and your in Plymouth I would highly highly recommend . Thank you Sara and staff for making our evening perfect delivery

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank helenandy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted and seated by Michelle, the most friendly waitress. As it was a corner seat we moved the place settings and Michelle helped us, nothing was a problem. My friend told her she often likes to go on holiday to Greece but due to Covid was unable to go this year. Michelle said she would put on the Greek music specially for us. Our food was absolutely delicious, real authentic Greek tasting. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank 456billieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

First time here for a meal...for me...hubby worked there when he was 16.....45 years ago....so he was happy to return.
Wow...what a pleasurable experience.
Food was amazing...absolutely delicious.
All staff were amazing...made us feel part of their family.
Highly recommend to everyone.
Will see you again soon.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank debbQ5647QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Grecian Taverna also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Grecian Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.