We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great memories”
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Ranked #8 of 69 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 12 May 2018

An excellent place to visit and spend a few hours seeing and remembering items from previous years. Look at Queen Victoria very carefully and you will see that she is "breathing". Our second visit to this attraction and still found things we didn't notice on our first visit two years ago. Looking forward to visiting again the next time we visit Torquay. The cafe on the top floor has excellent scones with jam and cream served by a friendly lady. Loved every minute spent here.

Thank Ann U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Many thanks for your return visit and of course we hope you will visit again one day. You do have to look closely at Queen Victoria to notice her breathe, and by the look on her face you don't feel you ought to stare for too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"victorian street"
in 109 reviews
"steam engine"
in 40 reviews
"victorian times"
in 42 reviews
"world war"
in 31 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 21 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 137 reviews
"three floors"
in 40 reviews
"queen victoria"
in 18 reviews
"family run"
in 17 reviews
"victorian era"
in 25 reviews
"down memory lane"
in 16 reviews
"sweet shop"
in 20 reviews
"model railway"
in 36 reviews
"step back in time"
in 58 reviews
"full size"
in 21 reviews
"sound effects"
in 27 reviews
"rainy day"
in 65 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2018

Great place to visit and even bring children/grand children. So many memories and 3 floors packed with our history - Excellent

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Super! Great to hear you enjoyed it and found it suitable for different ages. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Loved this place ....spent a long time wandering around ....seeing all the old brands in the shops.......oh the memories ......so much to see .....really enjoyed it all . Stopped in the cafe for a cuppa....lots on offer cakes and snacks .....really enjoyed it all. Well done to all who work so hard to keep it all going .

Thank Classy-Ladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Many thanks for your kind review and of course for visiting us! We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much and hope you will come again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Very impressed with this family run attraction! I took my grandgirls aged 11yrs & 9yrs! We all loved it! Looking back in time & me explaining to them when I used certain things when I was their ages! We spent a good few hours in there & will definately go again in the future! It has good educational value too! You should pay a visit & see for yourselves!

2  Thank Pearl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

We appreciate your visit and kind feedback, as a family run business we love satisfied customers! We are glad you found it interesting and educational too. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Reading the reviews we thought it was going to be more than it was. We lost interest very quickly. Was interesting but not worth the money.

Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

We regret that you did not find the exhibits of interest, as you point out, from reviews we do usually have customers who should like to marvel over the exhibits for hours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing