We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gorgeous place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gorgeous place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I have stayed at several Hotels in Torquay and the Meadfoot Bay Hotel by far surpasses the standard of any other. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts are perfect, and the service is seriously impeccable. Thank you to Gary, Chris and Caroline for making our stay amazing- we will definitely be returning to you! The Meadfoot Bay Hotel comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
319
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Myself and other half have stayed in this hotel many times over the past few years and have had a brilliant stay every time. The service we receive is great. We usually stay in a standard room, (room 21) which is very spacious, and has a terrace area outside. We are warmly welcomed each time by Chris/Gary who have always been very polite and friendly-nothings ever a problem.

The rooms we have stayed in have always been immaculately clean, bathrooms are spotless!! They always have the most comfy beds and soft linen. They are well equipped with tea/coffee/hot choc/water, plug sockets near mirrors etc with excellent local literature and guides. We have never had to report any faults or problems.

The public areas of the hotel are also immaculately clean, and even smell nice!! The lounge/bar areas are very quiet and peaceful, excellent for a quiet drink in the evening.

Breakfast is AMAZING!! Always plenty of choice-too much to list here. Also has lots of options for me (vegetarian) My OH always says it’s the best cooked breakfast he has ever had at a hotel!

Meadfoot Bay Hotel is a short walk to the town (perfect for walking breakfast off!) but is therefore in an extremely beautiful, peaceful area near to Meadfoot Beach which is also lovely to sit on.

The hotel often has offers for local restaurants and we often book a meal at Bianco's in the town (would highly recommend), through the hotel will gladly reserve the table for you.

I really cannot fault this hotel in any way, hence why we stay here often. Best Hotel Ever!!. Many Thanks

Room Tip: 19 and 21 have small patio areas. Try the coffees/hot chocolates in the evening, they are devine!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DerbyshireLM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

a small and well run hotel, Chris who served breakfast every day did it with a smile which starts the day well. We were upgraded to the suite for the last 2 days to help regular guests who wanted our existing room.No real hardship as the room is quite large and the bathroom is one of the best we have been in anywhere in the world. A short walk to town and also to the nearest beach made our stay a memorable one. Only used the Murfield room and the suite so don't know about the other rooms but all the guests seemed happy.
Roger - Derbyshire

Room Tip: if you can pay the extra use the suite or a premium room as in any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerdear2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed just for the one night and a very pleasant stay it was too.Nice clean room, lovely balcony, which due to the weather we never got to appreciate.Friendly family run place, only down side is its a fair walk to the harbour but if you fancy a drink i shouldn't imagine the taxi fare would be much.

Room Tip: Ours was room 19 with a lovely private/public balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank georgevader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Simply a great hotel. So very welcoming and such beautiful rooms! Literally excited to come back here! x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hels777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
4.9 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 km away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.4 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Property: The Meadfoot Bay
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#7 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price range (per night): RM452 - RM647
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meadfoot Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is an award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 4 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
The Meadfoot Bay Torquay, English Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing