We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Court(Torquay)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Edgcombe(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bentley Lodge(Torquay)
US$93
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wellsway(Torquay)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charterhouse(Torquay)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marstan(Torquay)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
501
42
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
42
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature suitedecanter of sherryon arrivalspa bathprivate terracefamily run hotelcooked breakfastcold meatsdeluxe roomwet roomwelcome drinkfantastic stayfull englishhigh standardlovely hotelminute walkbreakfast was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked at Meadfoot for a long awaited break last August. Warm welcome received on arrival from Phil but had no contact with Vicky during our stay. Breakfast was lovely and superbly cooked but no atmosphere in the dining room during our visit. Felt the car park is difficult as there were no spaces left during our visit. My husband hit a bollard trying to manoeuvre out of the small carpark after unloading to then have to park on the road. Our room was at the top, smaller than we would have expected as there was little room to get pass the end of the bed and quite dark with no view at all except unkept trees by the window. Meadfoot beach is wonderful, great cafe to sit and watch the world go by and lovely walk to reach it. We however personally found the walk back from Torquay hard work as it's uphill all the way back. From other comments listed we feel we went to a different hotel that week.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Sue

Have to say that your review has come somewhat out of the blue ten months after your stay. But of course we remember your husband's accident and fully appreciated that it must have been upsetting for you but, as we pointed out at the time (and the sign in our lobby clearly stated), unfortunately we cannot accept responsibility for such incidents. We have car parking for 12 on site and free parking on the road outside, but as you were with us in August the car park might well have been full. We obviously hate for a guest to have anything but pleasant memories of a stay at Meadfoot hence our offer at the time for a discount on a return stay which is still open should you wish to return.

Best wishes

Phil & Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Here on business really enjoyed our stay, the owners were very friendly and the freshly refurbished accommodation was excellent, breakfast was excellent and really enjoyed our visit here will definitely definitely come back again

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank JohnBroomfield2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear John

Having heard how much time you and your colleagues spend in hotels, we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we passed the Eggs Benedict test! Looking forward to having you back, maybe next time for pleasure?

All the best

Phil, Vicki, Jody and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Some of the best breakfast I've ever had. We had a suite which had just been refurbished to an exceptionally high standard.

Friendly staff, nice location near the beach. A real credit to the area. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Being the relative new kids on the block (well one year isn't long in this business) we take a lot of satisfaction from your very generous comment of being "a real credit to the area". Of course chef will simply let your comment about our breakfast go to her head.

We've got more developments planned over the course of this season which you can hear about on our facebook page or see on our website, all of which we hope will add that extra something to a stay at the Bay.

Meantime thanks once again for taking the time to review us and we all look forward to welcoming back soon, in particular chef...

Best wishes from the TMB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

This is our third visit to this hotel, besides being a 5 minute walk to meadfoot bay & 10 minutes to the fabulous Torquay town, this quality residence ran by Phil & Vicky makes for a just the most perfect stay. The complete makeover recently done has brought together the period property with modern living, Wow!, well done guys we will be back asap... The breakfasts were gorgeous I love full English & the bacon was noticeably delicious (just thought I would mention that). Once again thank you for providing a professional & very friendly setting. Just love this place... see you soon. Geoff & Lisa

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geofftasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hi Guys

Thank you so much for the great review. Hearing that as a returning guest you liked the make over as we do too really does make our day! But no rest for the wicked, so we've now turned our attention to the exterior. New decking has just been installed to the front terrace in time for the coming heat wave and lots of planting is just about to start, inspired to our visit to Coletan Fishacre.

Back inside (and sort of outside), our new superfast fibre broadband went live yesterday giving guests a wifi connection six times faster than before. Who knows what else will have happened when we see you next but hope it will be soon.

All the best and thanks once again from all the team at TMB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Another great stay at the meadfoot and I must say the new look is great, much more to our taste. As a 29 year old the old look was a bit dated for me. You can see how much work they have put into the building whilst maintaining and enhancing the original features. An amazing boutique b&b with the service and extras of a 5 star hotel. Would definatly recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank surfsup001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Wow back to you! We couldn't have put it better ourselves!

Our refurb is very much aimed at broadening the appeal of Meadfoot Bay as we think this beautiful location has so much to offer guests of all ages. Not only our beautiful Meadfoot Beach and its fab little cafe, but also that a 10 minute walk away we have the pick of the best restaurants in the whole of Torbay! This really is a world apart and once visited we guarantee you'll want to return as indeed you have!

And talking of worlds apart, can we recommend to you a hotel on the other side of the Atlantic that we think your nome de plume suggests you might be interested in. Its called the Altantis and is located on the east coast of Barbados (not the flashy west coast where most people go). It's in a fab location right next door to Cattlewash beach where there are some good waves to be found. It's definitely one of our go to hotels of choice, apart of course from Meadfoot Bay!

But thanks again for those generous comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes from us all at 'The Bay'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews