We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burleigh House(Torquay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Court(Torquay)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Montana(Torquay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$88
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Charterhouse(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
926
141
18
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
141
18
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelon arrivalowners and staffmeadfoot beachtown centrewarm welcomehigh standardshort walkbreakfast was deliciouslovely gardenbars and restaurantssmall hotelcomfortable bedquiet areafull englishlocal areawithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
685 - 690 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We visited Torbay last summer while touring the southwest. Haytor Hotel is smart, tidy and clean with welcoming and helpful hosts. Breakfast was well presented, tasty and served with a smile. The hotel is a handy 5 minutes walk to restaurants and town centre. The room was comfortable and clean and we sleep very well. All in all we enjoyed a nice stay and would recommend the Haytor. Apologies for late review.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Have stayed here several times and as usual 'an excellent experience'. Clean warm rooms, lovely setting in well kept gardens, great breakfast and friendly owners and staff with nothing too much trouble. As someone once said "We will be back"

Room Tip: Speak to Christopher or Robert regarding your preferences
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trev b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a large guest house. Room 1 wasn't big enough to swing a cat. You needed to duck to get underneath the TV on the wall. It also has poor sound proofing as we could hear other users chatting, using their bathroom toilet, or opening and closing doors. These were the downsides. The good bits were, it was clean, the breakfast was lovely and the lady serving was very pleasant, it has good parking and it is close to the sea front. Based on the room size I would say we were overcharged.

Room Tip: If you are couple then avoid room 1.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob-Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisnRob, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

I am very sorry that this guest had such an awful experience, certainly no complaint was ever put to anybody at the Hotel. I have raised a query with Tripadvisor regarding this review as i am uncertain of its authenticity. However, I will respond. Room 1 is a standard double room with ensuite shower. Room sizes, as well as noise, is very subjective. If you live in a large house with large rooms in the middle of a field then anything else can feel less comfortable, and if you aren't used to sharing your space with others you may be sensitive to noise.The Haytor is in a very quiet area which is mentioned often on most other reviews and we have excellent soundproofing to all of our rooms. Our standard double rooms offer everything you need for a stay in Torquay. I am 6' tall and certainly do not have to duck to get past the TV. As i say, I have raised a query with Tripadvisor regarding this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed at the Haytor for the weekend with some friends. Beautiful building set in lovely gardens, super interior and a few minutes from the town. Lovely, clean room which overlooked the well kept gardens . Great breakfast and good service . Both the proprietors were very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Thanks for the lovely break 'Haytor' - will definitely return - added bonus the weather was beautiful. Happy to recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Had a short break here in August, lovely clean room and en-suite. Proprietors very welcoming and breakfast very good, waitress very nice woman thanks for the tip on visiting nearby locations.
Free parking is a bonus, loved sitting in the gardens when the sun did shine! we will return and hopefully get the terrace room this time, very short walk to town centre, complementary toileteries was a very nice touch. Highly recommend. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews