We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveller rating
943
142
18
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
943
142
18
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel on arrival owners and staff meadfoot beach town centre warm welcome high standard breakfast was delicious lovely garden few minutes walk short stroll small hotel bars and restaurants comfortable bed quiet area within easy walking distance steep hill
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Found this hotel on-line and so glad we did, from the moment we arrived in the large car park and walked through the door we had a very warm welcome from Ian who was friendly and informative, he showed us to room 10 which was extremely spacious and spotlessly clean and the furnishings and decor very pleasing with tea/coffee biscuits and water. The bathroom had a very nice shower and toiletries. After we had our meal out, which was a short walk to the sea front where there are plenty of restaurants to Choose from, we arrived back and went into the comfortable bar for a coffee where we met Peter the owner who was very accommodating and even gave us home made flapjacks with our drink which were delicious. Next morning we had the choice of a very varied tasty breakfast in a light and airy room. Checkout was 10.30 which suited us perfectly. We would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Just back from a long weekend at the Haytor. This was our second visit here and we will definitely be back again soon. Rooms are beautiful and there is so much attention to detail. We have not got a wrong word to say about the hotel from driving into the car park to the moment we left this morning. Thank you ever so much.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rich886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Stayed here couple of weeks ago Fri & Sat night, was really nice, lovely rooms, all very very clean and cosy with good quality bedding etc. Looked like new carpet throughout the Hotel and was tastefully decorated everywhere.Spotless clean en suite. Tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, TV with Freeview. A Bar if you wanted to have a drink in the lounge. Friendly & welcoming staff and super breakfast served by a lovely lady, everything perfect for us even our poached eggs were cooked to perfection! Cannot fault all of our weekend apart from the rain in Torquay on the day we arrived! The grounds will be lovely in Summer when all the trees etc are out and we will definatly try & get back at another time of year too appreciate that. Plenty of car parking space, and only a few mins stroll to the shops, bars etc. which we did the following day after the rain!

Room Tip: king en suite at front of Hotel was lovely
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53sunshine_247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Losing count but think this was our 7th visit and more booked later in the year. The previous high standards in the decor/cleanliness etc and the breakfast remain.Would not consider anywhere else when visiting Torquay.

Room Tip: You can view all the rooms online
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank smithy0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

It has taken me a few months to write this review ... other things happened and I almost forgot, until I stumbled across the pictures from last August.

The Haytor Hotel is simply marvellous. From the moment I called to inquire about an adaptable room for my 92 year old father until we left the Hotel, service was impeccable.

It is clean, comfortable and very nicely decorated.

My father had one of the ground floor rooms with a walk in shower suite. It was excellent.

When my father locked himself in because he had wedged himself between the bed and the bedside table, the owner came to the rescue and we managed to open the door and rescue him ! He needed help to get back on to the bed and the kindness and care that Roger showed was beyond the call of duty. My heartfelt thanks.

Breakfast was excellent and my father enjoyed talking to the different guests as well as the lovely Jean who waited on the tables. We laughed until we cried some days. The quality of the food was 5 star and nothing was too much for any of the staff.

This hotel is a real gem. A fantastic place that I highly highly recommend. Well worth the value. Excellent breakfast. Spotless rooms and really well located ! Definitely the place to stay !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit.
Readers may be interested to note that booking direct via our own website (see the "Hotel Website" link at the top of this page under the Hotel's name), not only means you get our direct booking prices - the lowest available - but also access to ALL our room types, some of which are only bookable direct with us, as well as special lower prices for longer stays and a whole range of additional extras you can pre-book in advance.
Our website also has a range of local guides, to the local area, to the best restaurants and bars, places to visit, local walks, beaches, scenic drive - there is no need to print this information off, as it is also available in our rooms, but you may find these guides helpful to pre-plan your stay.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews