We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast ”
Review of The Silver Goose

The Silver Goose
Ranked #80 of 352 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$46
Cuisines: European, French, British, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The daytime café offers a warm welcome, with delicious freshly prepared meals and snacks and sublime coffee. Our spit-roasted meat is popular, our crunchy roast potatoes perfect and our gravies and sauces are real. On certain occasions by request, the café transforms into an evening Bistro style Restaurant. Prepare to be surprised with our flavour combinations, some the result of analytical instinct, others which have been happy accidents. Chef Andrew Thomas will regale your senses with some classic ingredients prepared in new and exciting ways. Summer Goose, virtually unheard of in British cuisine but a staple in south China, humble British cockles with a new twist, Devon crab served with two totally different vinaigrettes and home baked Granary bread, baby chicken poached in dashi and rubbed with seaweed and wild mushroom, then spit-roasted ....... These are mouth-watering delicacies you'll want to experience again. Phone to arrange your feast and we will prepare a menu for you and push the tables together for a party. There's art photography on the walls, atmospheric Tiffany lamps, table candles, linen napkins and fine cutlery. Bring your own wines. Welcome.
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I had a simply stunning full English 10/10 loved it. It is a place worth stopping at and having a meal

2  Thank I d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Family lunch...simply stunning, exceptional service, wonderfull food, freshly baked breads.....we couldn't have wanted more. Thank you!

1  Thank phil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We turned up on a beautiful bank holiday Sat really looking forward to a good breakfast. Unfortunately we had missed the cut off, but as we were so disappointed & it wasn't that busy they made an exception. It was delicious, & lovely friendly company, so will definitely be going back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

The best breakfast ever, locally sourced produce cooked to perfection with outstanding service! Highly recommended!! ☕️

Thank sweepsgirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Owner at The Silver Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review. I will make sure all members of our team see it. We try hard, and this makes it worthwhile. Many thanks for taking the trouble.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Having found this little jewel of a cafe back in February 2016, we returned hoping that the food and service were as good as our previous visits. We were a party of four adults and four very young children which can prove troublesome to accommodate with the need for high chairs etc but not at this venue, nothing is too much trouble. As a lover of a decent coffee, I can honestly say the coffee here beats any of the formulaic coffee shops you find on many high streets these days. I ordered the chicken mayo baguette and I would highly recommend this, as the bread was absolutely delicious. The owners made us feel as welcome as our previous visit and we hope to come back soon in our annual pilgrimage to the model village - thanks again.

Thank Simpsonsfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Owner at The Silver Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

That is so kind of you to write a review. We love kids (we have two of our own) and it's good for the mums and dads to rest their feet for a while knowing the kids are having a good time. Hence the colouring books etc !! We are so glad you appreciated our food and coffee. Hope to see you again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Silver Goose also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Silver Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing